GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

Default New Member with Question,, My first SUV

Hi there folks, I'm new in this SUV world.

I just bought my first truck in life, I went with a 2006 Suburban 1500. I got a real good deal for it and the truck is running real good but im a little worry about doing some maintenance on it.

I'm more into Japanese car and i have always had honda and toyota, I still own a Prelude and a mr2 but i wanted to try an american truck for awhile and have some fun in winter.

Well here is my question.

When i drive the truck it shift good but i hear a whining sound coming from the transmission. so i would like to change the oil and also change the pump filter.

Here is my worries.... i heard to many story about changing the transmission oil and i dont want to change it and caused the tranny to blow on me.

It goes good but i have no idea if the old owner had done any services on the truck,.

I will need some advise and i would like to know if i can do anything else beside changing engine oil and transmission oil... I was thinking about the transfercase , rear diff but i have no idea where to start with a 4x4 truck...

Thanks for your time and help.