GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11

    Default

    Now that I have my laptop, and Delorme Topo 10.0, the Laptop Mount for the truck will be ordered shortly, and I will use it for a 17 inch GPS unit. That is the only way to do GPS

  2. #12

    Default

    @SurrealOne So ur gps is in your deck or is that just another thing kenwood makes?
    1994 GMC Yukon, 2 door, Victory Red
    Garage Link: http://www.gmtruckclub.com/forum/sho...1994-GMC-Yukon

  3. #13

    Default

    I'm sorry, i can into this mid stream. Did you say 17-inch gps?

  4. #14

    Default

    Ya he did, i think he means it would be his laptop screen.
    1994 GMC Yukon, 2 door, Victory Red
    Garage Link: http://www.gmtruckclub.com/forum/sho...1994-GMC-Yukon

  5. #15
    Master Mechanic zigger215's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    551

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 1953bowtieguy View Post
    Ya he did, i think he means it would be his laptop screen.
    Which is nothing short of BA! But then again, I've always likes the idea of laptop integration.

  6. #16

    Default

    Yep, I have been using my 10 inch netbook with Windows 7 and Delorme street atlas and Topo 8.0, and 9.0 as a GPS over my center console for 3 years now with a USB GPS unit.......

    I finally was able to afford my 17inch Alienware laptop. So Delorme Topo 10.0 North American (US, Canada and Mexico) is going on it.

    The Topo maps give me elevation as well as 2D street navigation.

    But for me to effectively accomplish that, (So the 17 inch laptop does not slide around), I need to get a Laptop Mount like the Tow truckers, Police, EMT's, Power company trucks use....... to lock it down while driving.

    That will give me a 17inch GPS unit when I am driving and I will not have to wait for Google Maps to update if I loose cellular service in the mountains because all the detailed maps on on the hard drive.

  7. #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 1953bowtieguy View Post
    @SurrealOne So ur gps is in your deck or is that just another thing kenwood makes?
    Certain Kenwood head units have Garmin GPS integrated into them. The Excelon series (which is what my DNX-6960 is) is one such unit.

  8. #18

    Default

    I wish i would have known tht before i put my new deck in. Darn.
    1994 GMC Yukon, 2 door, Victory Red
    Garage Link: http://www.gmtruckclub.com/forum/sho...1994-GMC-Yukon

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Getting backup camera to always be ON !
    By JKeshler23 in forum Chevy Silverado Forum (GMC Sierra)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-06-2012, 04:15 PM
  2. screen for backup camera
    By at4rxj in forum Audio, Video & Gadget Tech
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-13-2012, 08:47 AM
  3. Backup Camera
    By RiverRat356 in forum Audio, Video & Gadget Tech
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-24-2011, 12:34 PM
  4. Add backup camera?
    By at4rxj in forum Audio, Video & Gadget Tech
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-25-2011, 05:22 PM
  5. Backup Camera
    By Myke in forum Audio, Video & Gadget Tech
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-05-2009, 01:42 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •