GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Jr. Apprentice

Default Need mileage increase; will changing gears help?

Hi, I'm new to any thing like this, but I thought I might get some info/help from you folks out there. I have a '05 2500 HD regular cab truck. My question is I have the 6 Liter gas engine with 4/10 4/11 gears. My mileage is horrible and want to know if changing the gears to 3/73's would help the fuel economy any. I realize it won't pay for it self any time soon if ever but passing gas station occasionally would be nice

Legend

Blog Entries

I moved your thread to the correct section and changed the title so that it relates to your content. This will get you faster and more responses than the Members Introduction section.

It appears that you are not sure what gears you have. Did they come from the factory that way? What is the diameter of your tire, and any other relevant information you have will be helpful. Also, what do you consider "horrible" mileage? I don't think anyone who has a 6.0 gets great mileage...heck, I don't even get great mileage with a 5.3, but relatively speaking I am very happy with the MPGs I get.

In any case, check out the gear ratio chart below, as this will give you a good idea what changing gears will do for you, but you will need to know your tire size. Also, I'd suggest checking your RPO code to make sure you know what gears you have now.

http://www.4x4offroads.com/gear-ratio-chart.html

Mike (Denver, CO) - 2008 Sierra 1500 Z71 SLE 5.3L 4WD

SUSPENSION: Rancho 4" Suspension Lift; Rancho RS9000XL Shocks; Rancho Skid Plates; Rancho MyRide Wireless Shock Controller;
    TIRES:
    BFG All Terrain KO 315/70/17
    DRIVE TRAIN: 4.56 Gears; Detroit TrueTrac Differential; True Cool 40k Transmission Cooler