GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

Default Service TPMS Warning-05 Yukon XL

I left the gym last night and got a "Service TPMS" message on my display. I scrolled through the tire pressures and the LR was not reading. I shut the truck off and restarted it. The message remained. I drove about 5 miles and the sensor started reading again. Luckily, If I have to have the sensor changed I have a $20 off any purchase at the local tire place. Anyone dealt with these before? I have zero experience with the system so any insight will be helpful. Is the not working, then working again an indication of something? Thanks

1995 Silverado 4x4
    6" BDS Suspension Lift-3" Body Lift-Add A Leaf in rear -Trailmaster SSV Shocks-Duel Steering Stabilizer Kit -AirAid Cold air intake-
    4.56 Gears with Detroit Auburn Locker-Pro-Comp Traction Bars with duel shocks-Aluminum Skid Plate Kit-38.5" x 16.5" Mickey Thompson Baja Claws-Constant Dropping fuel gauge

2005 Yukon XL Jet Power Programmer, Bilstein Shocks, Bilstein rear springs, Helwig Anti-sway bars, EGR Window Visors, EGR Hood Shield, Denali Headlights, Headlight harness upgrade, GE NightHawk Bulbs, White Night Rear lighting system, Russell Braided SS brake lines, PowerStop Brake pads, PowerStop cross drilled and Slotted Rotors, http://www.gmtruckclub.com/forum/sho...5-GMC-Yukon-XL
    2002 Silverado ext cab 2wd (Sold)
    2003 Yukon XL (Totaled)

I have no experience, just some thoughts:
    - do they have an internal battery, or a built-in generator?
    - do they constantly transmit, or try to "talk" to the receiver?
    - they take a lot of pounding, they must be very durable.
    - how do they last as long as they do?
    Ray

'09 Avalanche LTZ - Black
    '05 Envoy XL (sold)

Master Mechanic