GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 47

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Master Mechanic Burden33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Goose bay, Labrador Canada
    Posts
    979

    Default need help running wire

    hey guys my truck goes in the shop monday to get body work done and when it comes out im hoping to start installing my 50" led light bar and was wondering what you guys think is the best place to wire the switch the light bar wont be used all the timne since its for offroad purposes i was thinking in the department under the middle seat up front?


    Fabtech/Banks Ram Air |Fuel Off Road/ 315/70/17 duratracs |Hyper tech / Spencershids |
    Color Matched Bowtie |15% Tint on Front Windows|20% Tint on Back Windows




    Chevy Ridin' High
    "Black rims are as cool as a boner at a swim meet"

  2. #2
    Legend


    Enkeiavalanche's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Piermont,NY, back in Northern NJ now, But may be in IL soon....
    Posts
    5,319

    Default

    Can you post up some pics of your dash? Is there any blank spots where there should have had a switch?
    08 Z71 Avalanche Mods to date: K&N CAI,Hellwig Swaybars and End Links, Corsa Sport Exhaust, Superchips Programer,IPCW LOF & 3rd brake light and tails, AMI Gas door,Show Hooks and Door locks, Enkei Wheels, with Pirelli tires, StreetScene Bowties, Grant Steering wheel,Muth signal mirrors,SSBC Big Brake kit,Huskyliner Mug gards,Floor mats and Hood shield, McGard Lug nuts and locks, Bedrug, Cervini's Ram Air hood,35watt HID Fog lights, Sylvania bulbs all around ZXE's Highs and Lows, WhiteNight Back up lights,Sirius and HD Radio, SnugTop sitting on deck now Got a Softopper on now,Tempress Boat Hatches.... New Bilstein shocks are on... New Mods coming soon..... X

  3. #3
    Legend
    TRPLXL2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Norwalk, Ohio
    Posts
    3,359
    Blog Entries
    8

    Default

    In my S10 I had my switches mounted inside my center console, and honestly that's a pain in the arse. I was using mine on the road though, but I still had to remove the center console and run the wires up under there.

    BTW- Your truck is looking awesome!! It's a lot different then the last time I saw it, a lot has happened in a year.

  4. #4

    Default

    I mounted mine on my steering column... Next to the turn signal lever.
    2009 Chevy Silverado 2500HDLT 6.0L w/ Towing Package, Dick Cepek GM8 Rims, Dick Cepek FC II 33X11.50R17,RKSport Ram-Air Hood(Functional), Lazer Lite Aluminum Tonneau Cover, Road Armor Stealth Bumper, PIAA Lighting, Diablo Trinity Tuner, Diablew Custom Tune, BullyDog Cold Air Intake, American Racing Headers w/highflow cats, Corsa Performance Sport Exhaust, Custom Striping, Black Bowties front and rear, Fuel Grille Inserts, Recon Headlights, Readylift Shocks, Readylift Upper Contol Arms, 2" Blocks in the Rear..

    Future Plans: HD Tie Rods, Under hood upgrades, Crower Camshaft and possibly electric fans.

  5. #5
    Master Mechanic Burden33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Goose bay, Labrador Canada
    Posts
    979

    Default

    Thanks TRPLXL2. here is a pic of the interior and the switch that comes with the light bar. i was also thinking of gutting of my my 12V outlets and have the switch in there is its small enought



    Fabtech/Banks Ram Air |Fuel Off Road/ 315/70/17 duratracs |Hyper tech / Spencershids |
    Color Matched Bowtie |15% Tint on Front Windows|20% Tint on Back Windows




    Chevy Ridin' High
    "Black rims are as cool as a boner at a swim meet"

  6. #6
    Legend


    Enkeiavalanche's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Piermont,NY, back in Northern NJ now, But may be in IL soon....
    Posts
    5,319

    Default

    I say put the switch right here... No Not there Here.... Ok sorry.. Lots of places inside the cubby on the right, on the inside wall of the center console, lots of places..
    08 Z71 Avalanche Mods to date: K&N CAI,Hellwig Swaybars and End Links, Corsa Sport Exhaust, Superchips Programer,IPCW LOF & 3rd brake light and tails, AMI Gas door,Show Hooks and Door locks, Enkei Wheels, with Pirelli tires, StreetScene Bowties, Grant Steering wheel,Muth signal mirrors,SSBC Big Brake kit,Huskyliner Mug gards,Floor mats and Hood shield, McGard Lug nuts and locks, Bedrug, Cervini's Ram Air hood,35watt HID Fog lights, Sylvania bulbs all around ZXE's Highs and Lows, WhiteNight Back up lights,Sirius and HD Radio, SnugTop sitting on deck now Got a Softopper on now,Tempress Boat Hatches.... New Bilstein shocks are on... New Mods coming soon..... X

  7. #7
    Master Mechanic zigger215's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    551

    Default

    Make your relay triggered by your brights trigger and then you can mount the switch wherever and be done with it. Switches are dumb lol

  8. #8

    Default

    Will it fit right next to the stabilitrac button ? I find that little cubby is useless. May be get a wrecked NBS that has all those buttons, and you can re-purpose them as you want??? This would not make it stand out.

    What about the old school floor switch that was used to dim high beams? Then your left foot will have a purpose! Yes a little modification will be required to the included wire harness. May need some regular cleaning as you are in snow country!!!
    Finally a signature and Avatar! I also posted some pics in the Gallery.
    2011 2500HD Crew Cab 4X4 Z71 6Liter.
    2011 Outback Travel Trailer 260FL
    So Happy to not be on the edge of GVWR Over Load!!

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jake's silverado View Post
    Will it fit right next to the stabilitrac button ? I find that little cubby is useless. May be get a wrecked NBS that has all those buttons, and you can re-purpose them as you want??? This would not make it stand out.

    What about the old school floor switch that was used to dim high beams? Then your left foot will have a purpose! Yes a little modification will be required to the included wire harness. May need some regular cleaning as you are in snow country!!!
    I thought about that today. Was gonna suggest it as well but you beat me to it. Touché lol



    If at first you don't succeed, chances are, you are using too small of a cheater bar

    Current:
    1999 GMC Sierra SLT Z71 | 5.3 Vortec | Spectre Cold Air Intake | TransDapt TBS | Hypertech 30005 Tune | 2005 Chevy Tails | Denali headlights | AWS Bug Shield | 265/75/16 Mastercraft Courser A/T | "Ghetto" painted tailgate | Boss HD Speakers | 2005 Overhead Console | Dual Thrush Turbo Mufflers
    Future:
    Bigger Amp Alternator | Electric Fans | Oil/Trans Fluid cooler | Re-done exhaust | Paint | Interior Restoration/upgrade with newer model stuff | Window Visors (In channel) | Tint | Low-Profile Tool Box | LEDs throughout stock cab locations | And whatever is spurr of the moment
    US Navy Sailor :sign0011:

  10. #10
    Master Mechanic Burden33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Goose bay, Labrador Canada
    Posts
    979

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zigger215 View Post
    Make your relay triggered by your brights trigger and then you can mount the switch wherever and be done with it. Switches are dumb lol
    you mean wire the light up to my high beams

    Quote Originally Posted by rileyjr16 View Post
    I thought about that today. Was gonna suggest it as well but you beat me to it. Touché lol
    that would be an idea but i currently got my bass knobs there for my amps


    Fabtech/Banks Ram Air |Fuel Off Road/ 315/70/17 duratracs |Hyper tech / Spencershids |
    Color Matched Bowtie |15% Tint on Front Windows|20% Tint on Back Windows




    Chevy Ridin' High
    "Black rims are as cool as a boner at a swim meet"

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Looking for a hot wire
    By Newfie_Darren in forum Chevy Truck Talk & News
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-03-2012, 04:13 PM
  2. Running amp wire in an 03 siverado?
    By Schmig in forum Audio, Video & Gadget Tech
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-12-2010, 04:27 AM
  3. Can anyone tell me what wire this is?
    By trapper_canada in forum Audio, Video & Gadget Tech
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-29-2009, 12:15 AM
  4. 1 wire to 3 wire o2 sensor conversion
    By L0sts0ul in forum Chevy Suburban Forum (GMC Yukon XL)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-26-2009, 10:30 PM
  5. where -oh where does this wire go?
    By collinsperformance in forum General Chevy & GM Tech Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-06-2008, 01:10 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •