GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 47
  1. #11
    Master Mechanic zigger215's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    551

    Default

    Make your relay triggered by your brights trigger and then you can mount the switch wherever and be done with it. Switches are dumb lol

  2. #12

    Default

    Will it fit right next to the stabilitrac button ? I find that little cubby is useless. May be get a wrecked NBS that has all those buttons, and you can re-purpose them as you want??? This would not make it stand out.

    What about the old school floor switch that was used to dim high beams? Then your left foot will have a purpose! Yes a little modification will be required to the included wire harness. May need some regular cleaning as you are in snow country!!!
    Finally a signature and Avatar! I also posted some pics in the Gallery.
    2011 2500HD Crew Cab 4X4 Z71 6Liter.
    2011 Outback Travel Trailer 260FL
    So Happy to not be on the edge of GVWR Over Load!!

  3. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jake's silverado View Post
    Will it fit right next to the stabilitrac button ? I find that little cubby is useless. May be get a wrecked NBS that has all those buttons, and you can re-purpose them as you want??? This would not make it stand out.

    What about the old school floor switch that was used to dim high beams? Then your left foot will have a purpose! Yes a little modification will be required to the included wire harness. May need some regular cleaning as you are in snow country!!!
    I thought about that today. Was gonna suggest it as well but you beat me to it. Touché lol



    If at first you don't succeed, chances are, you are using too small of a cheater bar

    Current:
    1999 GMC Sierra SLT Z71 | 5.3 Vortec | Spectre Cold Air Intake | TransDapt TBS | Hypertech 30005 Tune | 2005 Chevy Tails | Denali headlights | AWS Bug Shield | 265/75/16 Mastercraft Courser A/T | "Ghetto" painted tailgate | Boss HD Speakers | 2005 Overhead Console | Dual Thrush Turbo Mufflers
    Future:
    Bigger Amp Alternator | Electric Fans | Oil/Trans Fluid cooler | Re-done exhaust | Paint | Interior Restoration/upgrade with newer model stuff | Window Visors (In channel) | Tint | Low-Profile Tool Box | LEDs throughout stock cab locations | And whatever is spurr of the moment
    US Navy Sailor :sign0011:

  4. #14
    Master Mechanic Burden33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Goose bay, Labrador Canada
    Posts
    979

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zigger215 View Post
    Make your relay triggered by your brights trigger and then you can mount the switch wherever and be done with it. Switches are dumb lol
    you mean wire the light up to my high beams

    Quote Originally Posted by rileyjr16 View Post
    I thought about that today. Was gonna suggest it as well but you beat me to it. Touché lol
    that would be an idea but i currently got my bass knobs there for my amps


    Fabtech/Banks Ram Air |Fuel Off Road/ 315/70/17 duratracs |Hyper tech / Spencershids |
    Color Matched Bowtie |15% Tint on Front Windows|20% Tint on Back Windows




    Chevy Ridin' High
    "Black rims are as cool as a boner at a swim meet"

  5. #15
    Master Mechanic zigger215's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    551

    Default

    Instead of triggering your relay with a constant hot wire or a parking light or ignition trigger, trigger it with the high beam wire.

  6. #16
    Master Mechanic zigger215's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    551

    Default

    When you're looking at the pins of a relay it would go like this

    Pin 87 gets constant 12v
    Pin 85 gets the high beam circuit wire
    Pin 86 goes to ground
    Pin 30 goes to your light bar

    If you still want it switched, then you run pin 30 to one side of a switch and the other side of the switch to the light bar.

    If you want it switched with a switch that has a little light indicator, also known as a pilot switch, then you do the same with the above switch but there will also be another pin on the switch that will need grounded.

  7. #17
    Master Mechanic zigger215's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    551

    Default

    Oh yea, what that allows the lights to do is:


    When the switch is on, the lights will ONLY come on when your high beams are on, as soon as you click the high beams off, your light bar will follow suit. This keeps you from bobbling around with two different functions to shut down all your lights.

    If you don't want your light bar to come on at all, simply shut off your switch and they will not react to your high beams coming on or off.

    Your high beam circuit will work normally at all times and in no way will it be affected by your new setup.

  8. #18
    Master Mechanic Burden33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Goose bay, Labrador Canada
    Posts
    979

    Default

    the only problem having it hook up to my high beams is the light is for offroad and show only your not allowed to have it on going down the highway


    Fabtech/Banks Ram Air |Fuel Off Road/ 315/70/17 duratracs |Hyper tech / Spencershids |
    Color Matched Bowtie |15% Tint on Front Windows|20% Tint on Back Windows




    Chevy Ridin' High
    "Black rims are as cool as a boner at a swim meet"

  9. #19
    Master Mechanic zigger215's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    551

    Default

    That's why you would turn the switch off when you don't need it.

    And lets say for example you are on a long trip on a main road, it's dark as crap out and you're the only one cruisin down the road, you're telling me that you aren't gonna flip that bad boy on? Waste of money if you don't.

    You can also install a 3-way switch. This would allow you to give your lights TWO triggers. A high beam trigger and an accessory trigger. What this will do is allow the following light options

    Light bar on with the accessories on
    Light bar on with the high beams on (you would select between the two with a single switch!)
    Light bar off completely (this would happen if the switch was in the neutral position.

  10. #20
    Master Mechanic Burden33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Goose bay, Labrador Canada
    Posts
    979

    Default

    ya ok i might turn it once in awhile for that. now that is an option running a 3 way switch


    Fabtech/Banks Ram Air |Fuel Off Road/ 315/70/17 duratracs |Hyper tech / Spencershids |
    Color Matched Bowtie |15% Tint on Front Windows|20% Tint on Back Windows




    Chevy Ridin' High
    "Black rims are as cool as a boner at a swim meet"

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Looking for a hot wire
    By Newfie_Darren in forum Chevy Truck Talk & News
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-03-2012, 04:13 PM
  2. Running amp wire in an 03 siverado?
    By Schmig in forum Audio, Video & Gadget Tech
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-12-2010, 04:27 AM
  3. Can anyone tell me what wire this is?
    By trapper_canada in forum Audio, Video & Gadget Tech
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-29-2009, 12:15 AM
  4. 1 wire to 3 wire o2 sensor conversion
    By L0sts0ul in forum Chevy Suburban Forum (GMC Yukon XL)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-26-2009, 10:30 PM
  5. where -oh where does this wire go?
    By collinsperformance in forum General Chevy & GM Tech Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-06-2008, 01:10 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •