GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 1 of 2 12 Last Post byLast Post by

Hybrid View

Default Flomaster Exhaust

Alright boys, it's time for exhaust. I've done some research and it looks like Flomaster True Duals 40 Series is really popular. I just don't know what it sounds like. I want something everyone can hear, but not so loud that its annoying for my neighbors.

Suggestions!

I have a single flowmaster 50 series and it's loud enough that with the truck 200' from my apartment and all windows shut, it's CLEARLY audible from inside when I remote start it ... and as it sits and warms up. The rumbling glug-glug-glug is throaty ... despite living in a heavily wooded environment where trees buffer some of the sound.

When at the family lake house I can hear it down in the basement when I remote start the trucjh, too -- despite the beasement being earth on three sides and having only 2 windows and two french doors (facing away from where the truck is parked). That's a heavily wooded environment, too.

True duals are going to be loud ... and you can expect a good bit of cab drone, too. Here are some on a 5.3L:

I have the series 40 muffler and it sounds great. It's loud but not abnouxious. And when you step on it people turn heads. Full exhaust may sound different though.

2005 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LS V8 4.8L Ext Cab Standard bed. K&N Air Filter, and Flowmaster Series 40 Muffler. 2 12"in JL audio subs, 1500w amp
    2002 Ford F250 Lariat Powerstroke 7.3L Diesel Short Bed
    2004 Chevrolet Suburban LT

I'm thinking about just getting dual exhaust, it's a whole hell of a lot cheaper than true duals.