GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

Thread: Lifting an s10

Hybrid View

Default Lifting an s10

I'm wanting to do about a 2.5-3" lift on a 2000 S10 4x4, and I have no idea what to do. (I usually lower stuff lol) I keep seeing "leveling kits" and I don't really know what the difference between a leveling kit and a lift kit is. The S10 needs new struts and bushings anyway, so I figure why not mod it at the same time? haha

Is this what I'm really going for? http://www.ebay.com/itm/82-05-S10-S1...820196&vxp=mtr

Sorry if I sound like a complete idiot, I'm new to modding trucks. haha
    2003 Chevy Suburban LT~2000 Chevy S10 LS~2003 SAAB 9-5 Arc~2004 Mazda6i~1966 Ford Mustang Coupe

the kit you posted has rear lift shackles so it will lift both front and rear. a leveling kit will only level the front to match the back. Sounds like you got a good kit. But I would go straight through Rough Country. Another roption you would have is a 3" body lift... but they aren't my favorite...

there are major differences in kits out there. I don't know if a 2.5" would cause poor angles for things like drive shafts and front CV shafts. But, it looks like the kit that you provided a link to does not provide brackets to drop the front diff to correct angles. I know that this is a 5" kit, and 4 times the price of the kit that you showed, but take a look at this kit just as an example of the different kits out there: http://bds-suspension.com/product?ma...8&yr=1995-2005