GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

Default Newbie here. Hi everyone. 1991 5.7 4x4 1500

What a great forum. Been reading for a while now.I have a quick question. My truck
    idles a little rough. Smooths out as soon as I start accelerating. Runs great then.
    Someone mentioned the EGR valve. Haven't had time yet to check it out. It's been
    really cold the last couple days. Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks a bunch.

Quote Originally Posted by jbopeep View Post
    What a great forum. Been reading for a while now.I have a quick question. My truck idles a little rough. Smooths out as soon as I start accelerating. Runs great then. Someone mentioned the EGR valve. Haven't had time yet to check it out. It's been really cold the last couple days. Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks a bunch.
    Have you done a basic tune up? I.e. Plugs wires cap rotor and fuel filter? This info would help us a lot to narrow down possible suspects. You can take the egr valve off and clean it good. You can also clean the o2 sensors with acetone and a clean red shop rag
    Chuckie!!!

I'm sorry. I'm new at this. Plugs, cap and rotor and fuel filter have been replaced.
    I'll check the EGR and 02 sensor as you suggest. Thanks a lot.

Quote Originally Posted by jbopeep View Post
    I'm sorry. I'm new at this. Plugs, cap and rotor and fuel filter have been replaced. I'll check the EGR and 02 sensor as you suggest. Thanks a lot.
    changing the wires would probably help too
    Chuckie!!!

The wires are only about a year old. But I'll check
    them anyway.

If a wire is bad, wouldn't it miss while ccelerating also?

Sr. Apprentice