GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

Default belt tensioner bracket

can anyone remember back to 1989?? I have a 1989 gmc 4x4 1/2 ton trhat I want to remove the a/c compressor. what do i need to do? new bracket, shorter belt, different belt tensioner?? I'm prety sure the b.t. has to be moved but it appears i need a different bracket to mount it in the right location. then there is the 40 or 6 groove serpentine belt issue/
    also does anyone know if they make an assembly or parts manual

thanks for any info

I have mounted a 1039 body on this chassis. I have a feeling I'm just getting started on the first of many issues. LOL

which motor does it have and what's the configuration of the accesorries on the belt currently? I want to say if you have the a/c compressor on the drivers side with a 350, you just get a shorter belt and it'll work. Mind you, this is going completely off of memory.
    Christopher

1991 Chevy Suburban 1/2 ton 2WD w/ chevy SBC 350-3/4 ton drivetrain upgrade w/4.10 gears 200K miles
    2005 Saturn ION-2 Stock 277K miles
    1982 Bronco, 1993 Bronco (sold), 1971 M35A2 Deuce and a Half

There are 10 kinds of people, those who understand binary, and those who dont...

Remember kids, the only difference between screwing around and science is writing it down- Adam Savage

Default belt tensioner bracket

it has the 5.7 and compressor is on the passenger side. it does show a different belt config in the book and the parts store show a different number on the tensioner for a engine w or w/o an a/c. i thought a new tensioner and belt would work on the old bracket but it doesnt seem to. jst wanted to see if someone could verify that

thanks

Blog Entries