GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

Default Transmission Coolant Lines "Seeping" according to Dealer

Hey Truck Pros,
    I know I'm a noob but I read a lot on here and would like to ask for a little input if possible. Today I took my truck in for it's first oil change at a Chevy Dealer since I bought it earlier this year (2003 Yukon XL 5.3). I love this truck and am very pleased with it so far.

Anyways, I also opted to have the Fuel Filter replaced and the Transmission Filter/Fluid changed - all for maintenance just because i figured they were due or overdue.

The dealer calls and claims I need 2 new belts (alternator and something else), Power Steering Fluid Flush, Brake Fluid Flush AND that all 3 of my Transmission Coolant Lines are "beginning" to seep and they should all be replaced.

The Dealer Quotes are:
    Transmission Filter/Fluid (no flush) - $150
    Fuel Filter/Oil Change/Tire Rotation - $120 (what?!?!)
    The belts were quoted at $175
    Power Steering Flush - $118
    Brake Fluid Flush - $138
    3 New Transmission Coolant Lines - $607!!!

So anywho, I elect to go ahead and do everything except the transmission lines for a hair over $700. This is steep but it's at the dealer and whatever - I can at least do my own oil changes moving forward.

My question is - can I ask this group how critical it is to replace these Transmission Coolant lines? I'm remotely knowledgeable about vehicles and I understand these are for cooling the tranny and I guess it's tranny fluid seeping out ever so slowly. The dealer rep said I could technically just keep an eye on the tranny fluid level but that "they could break". He explained the seeping is where the metal meets the rubber I guess.