GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default whats the difference between these two?

im new to the lift kit ideas, and iv noticed there are 2 kits, a suspension lift kit and a bodt lift kit..whats the difference and which is better?

Good question. I'm also curious about the difference.

The "body lift" is just like it sounds. It is a set of spacers that are fitted between the frame and the body. If you are just wanting to get more clearance for tires or for looks, this isn't bad. It does not alter the suspension or ride. It does raise the center of gravity, somewhat. The suspension lift alters the suspension with a combination of things: springs; drop brackets; lift spindles; etc. This affects the geometry of the steering and is available in several different levels of complexity and height. You can combine the two and make room for larger tires. There are some folks on this site who are better at explaining this, but this might answer your questions. Good luck!

2010 Z/71 Colorado C/C
    Black 4X4 w/5.3L V8
    ===============
    2007 Winnebago Adventurer
    w/8.1L Chevy & Allison 6spd.
    Canyon Lake, Texas

thanx for explaining, from the sounds of it, i may go with body lift, because i just want the look..i like the raised look of it and want to throw on some bigger tires somewhere in the lower 30'' range..i dont ever plan on actually going off roading like i said this is for city driving and i like the looks of it...can anyone suggests some good sites to order some body lift items?

a body lift is exactly what it sounds like .. it lifts the body. (cab) ..(cheaper)
    a suspension lifts the frame .. which is better and looks nicer .. (more expensive)

what brand are you looking at getting and how much
    Ryan

2002 Jeep Wrangler Sport 4x4 (the Yellow Jacket)
    4inch suspension 3inch body