GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Mileage increase

So far Ive added a K&N FIPK and a Magnaflow cat back. It sounds great but ive only gained about .5 mpg. Im getting 15 - 15.5 in mixed driving and hwy mileage I get 17mpg at 70 mph. My next step is a Hypertech programer but Im not sure which to go with either max energy or the e con. I was doing some reading on the Jet MAF and they claim an increase in mpg but dont say how much. I'm curious if any of you have one and what kind of gain you got if any. Is there anything else I can do to get an increase in mpg? Im a light footed driver, tires are properly inflated and I use royal purple.
    2009 Tahoe LT2; Graystone Metallic; 5.3L Vortec; 4x4; Loaded;

I have a '04 1/2 ton cab with the same engine as your Tahoe. I do more highway driving than city ( 15% vs 85% ) as I live 25 miles from town and I am averaging 18 .3 to 18.5 mpg with only a KnN air fiilter and Royal Purple. I don't get into the go pedal very often, but I don't take any more time than necessary when I pass a car. I have about 108,000 miles and running good. I wouild have though the Tahoe would have gotten better especially with your "mods".

2010 Z/71 Colorado C/C
    Black 4X4 w/5.3L V8
    ===============
    2007 Winnebago Adventurer
    w/8.1L Chevy & Allison 6spd.
    Canyon Lake, Texas

I agree with Bob. I have the same engine with similar mods and was using Royal Purple, but just switched to Mobil 1. Overall, I went from about 16-17 MPG to about 18-18.5 MPG. I also started driving 60 mph on my commute to and from work instead of 70/75. That helped as well.