GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

Thread: Heater problems

Default Heater problems

When I turn on the heater switch, it will take a while to warm up before anything even barely comes out even on the highest setting. Then at some point it will start blowing out like it should and is fine. It has only done that a few times. Usually it barely blows anything out, but it is hot air when it does. The switch is supposed to vary the amount/speed of air coming out, but it doesn't work that way. Could I have a bad blower motor, or a bad switch?
    1970 Chevrolet Chevelle SS 505ci/8.2L V8
    1996 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 350ci/5.7L V8

My '04 has similar problems and I thing we both have "switch" problems. I'm no mechanic, but I believe it is the switch. Good luck.

2010 Z/71 Colorado C/C
    Black 4X4 w/5.3L V8
    ===============
    2007 Winnebago Adventurer
    w/8.1L Chevy & Allison 6spd.
    Canyon Lake, Texas

Does the fan sound like it's blowing, but you're not getting any air out or is it just not blowing at all for a while?
    Gary

99 K 1500 Suburban
    78 Silverado Big 10 w/factory 454
    00 S-10 Blazer
    1976 Trans Am
    1980 Honda CB900 Custom

Sounds like the switch or Blower motor resistor might have had it.
    -=Howie=-:sarcastic:

Its not the professional drivers I worry about. Its the Amateurs.
    1999 Chevy C3500 Crew Cab W/T 8'Bed, 350 Vortec 2wd "Ghost"

the blower motor resistor controls fan speed thats about it if it blows on all settings it has nothing to do with the resistor..however it may just have a high temp thermostat in it and it takes a while to get up to the certin temp needed to open..its hard to tell what you have for a problem by your discription
    99 silverado 4.8l with 6.0 throttle body,full tci rebuild with shift kit transmission with no reverse,eaton posi,flowmaster exhaust