GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 1 of 2 12 Last Post byLast Post by
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Audio Help plz

  1. #1
    Jr. Mechanic jmonte3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Lafayette, La
    Posts
    112

    Default Audio Help plz

    K so i already have and audio system, but the sound quality is not up to par...so i'm looking for a lil help from an audio guru...My set up consists of:
    • 2 10 " Solo-Baric L7's 600 watt rms/1200 watt peak dual 4-ohm voice coils
    • Pioneer Avic D-3 navi/dvd head unit
    • 1 pair Alpine Type-X compnent 2-way speakers(75 watt)
    • 1 Pair of alpine Type-r speakers in the back doors(100 watt)
    • Total Mobile Audio T1000-Power: 500-1000 Watts 500 W x 1 @ 4 Ohm 750W x 1 @ 2 Ohm 1000W x 1 @ 1 Ohm
    I know my amp is too blame for my less than desirable sound quality...idk its kinda sloppy,I want everything to be powered correctly
    Thinking of upgrading to this:
    http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAu...roductID=19614
    or:
    http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAu...roductID=19252
    or:
    http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAu...roductID=18186
    or even possibly this:
    http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAu...roductID=17271

    your help will be much appreciated, because i plan on upgrading soon

    Jmonte3
    07 Sierra NBS Black Crew Cab 5.3L Z71
    15% tint
    Gmc pin stripes
    Blacked out GMC Logos
    Dual Flowmaster exhaust
    Kicker Stereo System w/ Pioneer Avic-D3 Navi/Dvd
    Volant CIA
    Edge Evolution
    Poweraid TBS
    Leveling Kit
    Changed Door Handles to match shiney black paint

  2. #2
    Sr. Apprentice
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Fort Leonard Wood, MO
    Posts
    46

    Default

    quick question. do you have everything hooked up to the same amp? from the specs it looks like you have a mono block amp that only pushes 1000 watts if your 1ohm stable. your trying to feed a set of subs that need 1200 watts rms. with the 2 dual voice coils 4 ohm if you wire them in parrallel to the mono block you should get a 2 ohm stable load and be able to power the subs with the kicker pzr. look at your speakers installation guide and it will refer you on how to connect your subs to a specific ohm setup.

  3. #3
    Sr. Apprentice Z28Johnny's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    72

    Default

    What part of the system is not up to par? From your set up it looks like you are powering the fronts and rears off of the deck. If this is true and it was me, this would be the biggest issue. If you want loud, clear music all of the speaker need some power going to them. Subwoofers just need power and to have the gain and frequency adjusted correctly.

    Buy a good quality 4 channel amp first.

    John

  4. #4

    Default

    Even if you wire the subs series paralell you will only end up with a 4 ohm load. Either need different amp or single voice coil speakers

  5. #5
    Sr. Apprentice
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Fort Leonard Wood, MO
    Posts
    46

    Default

    o yeah sorry bro. you can use the speakers you have with the alpine pdx because it is 4ohm stable and gives you 1000 watts rms. the only problem i see is you will be at the max of the amp and not get the full potential of the subs. z28 johnny has a point though your other speakers need some umphh to them. maybe thats where your sound is lacking. and somthing else i forgot to ask are you running your amp and subs as a 1ohm setup?

  6. #6
    Sr. Apprentice Z28Johnny's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    72

    Default

    I get a little confused on the parallel/series thing, but I believe he can wire his current set up to 1ohm. He has 2 dual voice coil 4ohm subs. Parallel the 2 voice coils of each sub together, this will give him two 2ohm subs. Then parallel those two subs together to give you 1 ohm. Right?

    Honestly though you would get more bass if you just did one of those L7's and the amp you have. You'd be giving more power to the one sub. That L7 is more than capable of making obscene bass all by itself, two won't really do much more for you... Honestly!

    Instead of spending $500 on a new amp, spend $50 on a new box for just one of your subs (save the second one as a back up or give to a friend) and spend $250 on a Hifonics 4 channel amp for your speakers. The sound will be way better, the bass will hit harder, your box will be taking up less room, and best of all your wallet will be fatter.

    John

  7. #7
    Sr. Apprentice Z28Johnny's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    72

    Default

    http://www.thedeepdiscount.com/DualV...il4ohmPair.htm

    Yes, I was right. You can wire your set up to 1ohm. I would still get rid of one of them though. One of those will handle all of the power of your amp and hit much harder than the two sharing your amp.

  8. #8

    Default

    You didnt mention the type of box and where you have it. An incorrect size box can really make those subs under perform - I have two L7 *
    8" and the need lots of power and air space.


    GMTruckClub members receive discounts off our normal rates! PM me for quotes! Check out our Films gallery - updated with over 200 Hydro Dip films!

    If it can be painted - it can be Hydro Dipped!

    Get the Gorilla!

    gorilladip.com

    sales@gorilladip.com

  9. #9
    Jr. Mechanic jmonte3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Lafayette, La
    Posts
    112

    Default

    http://www.subthump.com/crb07.htm
    this the box i currently have...so if i just went with one i'd have to buy a new box
    in order to power my door speakers i would need a 4 channel amp?
    i have two of these from my original set up
    http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...ch+P550.2.html
    i tried to bridge them but it never worked out as planned...
    can i use them some how or should i just sell them and use that money to purchase a multi channel amp

  10. #10
    Jr. Apprentice crazi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    20

    Default

    If your thinking it overall sound not just the subs, I'd look for an Amp to run your speakers off of. What size Type R's are the 5.25 or 6.5?? Are the Coaxial or Component?? The TypeR is a really power hungry speaker. My friend has two set of 5.25 coaxial in his Hyundai Accent running off an Alpine 240watt amp 4 channel. They are extremely clean and ear peircing.
    1998 K2500 Silverado 4x4, 5.7L 350, 6in" SuperLift on 33" BFG's, Audio: JVC Deck, Alpine 250 pushing 1 set of Alpine Type R 6.5" Components, Kicker 4x6" running off Deck, and a Brutus 1600 pushing 2 10" Kicker CVX in sealed box

Page 1 of 2 12 Last Post byLast Post by

Similar Threads

  1. Audio help!!!
    By Shorty 71 in forum Audio, Video & Gadget Tech
    Replies: 9
    Last: 03-12-2010, 05:29 PM
  2. audio help please
    By jerrynino in forum Audio, Video & Gadget Tech
    Replies: 10
    Last: 08-12-2009, 09:14 PM
  3. JLl Audio 250.1 sub amp
    By alaxrunner in forum General Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last: 07-08-2009, 09:47 PM
  4. 2009 Silverado audio system with ipod integration by JML Audio of St. Louis
    By jmlaudio in forum Audio, Video & Gadget Tech
    Replies: 4
    Last: 06-28-2009, 10:54 AM
  5. Audio - do it yourself or pro?
    By ChevyFan in forum Chevy Silverado Forum (GMC Sierra)
    Replies: 16
    Last: 08-02-2007, 08:54 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •