GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: P0300 update!

  1. #1
    Legend

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Red Wing, Minnesota, United States
    Posts
    3,356

    Angry P0300 update!

    So I FINALLY broke that O2 sensor lose, put the new one in and cleared the code. Started the truck up and drive it around for a bit and no problem. The wife got home, we went to the store and when i started it up again it was back. So I have replaced plugs, wires and the O2 sensor. My next step will be the fuel filter and the coil. Just to add I do notice that it does idle a little rough and its idle is around 500-600 RPMs. If the sterring whell is turned the truck almost want to die, but if you give it some gas and get the RPMs up to 800-900 then everything smooths out.
    99 K1500 Suburban LT "THE BEAST"
    Hypertech III, K&N, true dual
    285/75/16
    ___________________________
    Jason

  2. #2

    Default

    Before you throw a fuel filter and coil at it why not check your freeze frame data on that P0300? This may lead you in the right direction. If your truck runs good when you floor it, your coil and fuel filter are working just fine.
    Jim

    2004 SILVERADO 2500HD LS
    Pro Comp Leveling Kit
    285-75-16 Cooper ST All Terrains
    Pro Comp Programmer
    Bilstein Shocks
    Linux Bed Liner
    Tinted Windows



    Other rides:

    1967 Landcruiser <350 Chevy>
    1970 Camaro
    1990 Geo Metro Convertible
    2007 FJ Cruiser

  3. #3
    Legend

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Red Wing, Minnesota, United States
    Posts
    3,356

    Default

    What is freeze frame data, all I have is a hypertech programmer that can read the codes, I assume I will have to take it to the shop to do this
    99 K1500 Suburban LT "THE BEAST"
    Hypertech III, K&N, true dual
    285/75/16
    ___________________________
    Jason

  4. #4
    Legend
    TRPLXL2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Norwalk, Ohio
    Posts
    3,357
    Blog Entries
    8

    Default

    No you don't have to take it to the dealer for freeze frame data, I have an Auto X-ray that does the freeze frame data and it is awesome. You would need some kind of medium range diagnostic tool such as an Actron, Auto X-ray or some other brand, I paid almost $600 for mine but they go as low as $150 and you could have freeze frame. Basically you would need someone to drive the vehicle while you have the scanner plugged into the OBD II port, and then there is a whole process that you go through and it will trap a ton of data that you can look at afterwards.

    I will see if I can download my freeze frame info for you to see, I just did this for my S-10 so give me a few minutes here. BRB..................
    2004 Chevy Colorado
    LS1 5.7 swap/TBSS rear axle swap

  5. #5
    Legend

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Red Wing, Minnesota, United States
    Posts
    3,356

    Default

    Well I know its happening on idle as it is rough and the truck shakes slightly but I dont have money to invest into that, so off to the shop
    99 K1500 Suburban LT "THE BEAST"
    Hypertech III, K&N, true dual
    285/75/16
    ___________________________
    Jason

  6. #6
    Legend

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    River Ridge Louisiana-4 miles W of New Orleans-didn't flood-water stopped 800 yards away.
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    I doubt that this will help, but when my intake manifold gaskets were replaced 2 weeks ago the Suburban ended up with a misfire code-P0301 or somrthing like that-it meant #1 wasn't firing.

    It turned out to be the "plug" that control the electrical stuff on the fuel injection wasn't seated properly- it had bent one of the male plugs so it wasn't going into the proper female receptor.It was easy enough to do-especially when you are in a hurry. Obviously it isn't the same thing, since that gave a very specific code and cylinder-still it might be a bad connection of something in some not too obvious way.

    I would recheck all electrical connections in hopes of getting lucky.
    Luck
    Charlie
    1998 suburban-
    1/2 ton

    199500 miles
    River
    Ridge,LA

  7. #7
    Master Mechanic Dr_Zero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sunny Florida
    Posts
    706

    Default

    Oh this reminds me I got a new Harbor Freight sale paper and they have scanners on sale here a link
    http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=99722

    $89 does can and freeze frame internet updatable

    or you can get it from Amazon for $79 + shipping
    [ame="http://www.amazon.com/Autel-MaxiScan-MS409-OBD-II-Scanner/dp/B001LHW9YG/ref=sr_1_33?ie=UTF8&s=automotive&qid=1245268663&sr =1-33"]Amazon.com: Autel MaxiScan MS409 OBD-II/EOBD Scanner: Automotive[/ame]
    My trucks!

    1996 GMC Suburban SLT
    1997 GMC Yukon SLT

  8. #8
    Legend
    TRPLXL2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Norwalk, Ohio
    Posts
    3,357
    Blog Entries
    8

    Default

    You go Dr. Zero, that is all you need and for $89 it will pay for itself after the first time you use it. Plus I am sure that you will use it down the road too, I think they are a good investment but that's just me. The freeze frame is excellent for intermittent problems, and it can also be sent to a lap top for further analysis. The only reason mine cost so much is because I got all of the cables with it, GM/FORD/Chrysler OBD1, GM?FORD?CHRYSLER OBD2, CAN, plus the USB cables. Those cables are like $50 each, so go with the one Dr. Zero showed. It will do the same thing mine does.
    2004 Chevy Colorado
    LS1 5.7 swap/TBSS rear axle swap

  9. #9
    Legend

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Red Wing, Minnesota, United States
    Posts
    3,356

    Default

    Well its been at the shop since 12 today and it will be there over night, as they are having a hard time figuring it out
    99 K1500 Suburban LT "THE BEAST"
    Hypertech III, K&N, true dual
    285/75/16
    ___________________________
    Jason

  10. #10
    Legend

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Red Wing, Minnesota, United States
    Posts
    3,356

    Default

    Well it has been there since 12 oclock yesterday and no luck yet. I really am unsure of what to do, I am gonna have a huge bill for all the computer time to have found nothing.
    99 K1500 Suburban LT "THE BEAST"
    Hypertech III, K&N, true dual
    285/75/16
    ___________________________
    Jason

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. p0300 code?
    By dshewy14 in forum General Chevy & GM Tech Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-13-2010, 12:02 PM
  2. need help P0300
    By cable734 in forum GM Powertrain
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-05-2010, 12:51 AM
  3. P0300 misfire detected need help
    By dallas65 in forum General Chevy & GM Tech Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-21-2009, 12:53 AM
  4. P0300 Code
    By sociald in forum General Chevy & GM Tech Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-17-2009, 05:07 AM
  5. Code P0300
    By msm1889 in forum General Chevy & GM Tech Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-10-2008, 07:52 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •