GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 1 of 2 12 Last Post byLast Post by

Default 1997 5.7 Fuel Pressure Regulator?? [Expired Topic]

Could some one help me out with the location of the fuel pressure regulator on a 1997 Sub, 5.7 liter. I Replaced the fuel pump (6th time in 4 years) This last time it still would not fire up and I suspect the regulator at this point as the pressure is good at the pressure relief valve. Do I actually have to do a tear down of this engine to get to the regulator? This is a bit crazy. Did they hide the little beast?

Thanks for any help!

Bryan

Start by saying that I'm pretty new to GM truck engines (bought the Suburban about 2 months ago), so I'm going on what my Haynes manual says and what I know generally of how fuel systems are designed.

Haynes says the FPR is part of the "fuel meter body" and is accessed by removing the upper intake manifold.

Why do you suspect the FPR is bad? From what I can tell, the fuel delivery system on these engines is similar in design to the fuel system on my Ford's: Fuel pump delivers fuel to the engine, FPR is a basic backpressure regulator bleeding off the excess fuel pressure back to the fuel tank as it maintains a constant pressure to the injectors. On a system like this, if the fuel pressure measured at the test port is correct (60 psi according to the manual), then the FPR is not a likely cause of the no start. Where you're measuring "good" pressure at the test port (I don't know how you've defined "good"), I'm not sure I would suspect the FPR as the faulty component.
    '98 K1500 Suburban LS 5.7 L 4L60E NV246 ARB
    '92 Ford Explorer XLT 4x4 4.0 L A4LD BW13-54 Trac-loc rear