GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

Default trying to drain the radiator

I decided to do a radiator flush on my 94 Sierra, which I have never done before on this truck. I'm lying on my back looking up and I can't even see the bottom of the radiator let alone find the drain. Is there something I need to remove? Like the front skid plate? I hate taking stuff apart and then finding out the answer was right in front of me !
    TIA
    Steve

Usually you can see and reach them from the top side. It's little wing nut looking deal, with sort of a tube on it so you can hook on a piece of 3/8 hose.
    When you hear hoofbeats, look for horses not zebras.

On the driver's side ?

I think so. Ready for bed now, I'll check tomorrow

If I were you, I would take off the lower radiator hose at the radiator instead of trying to use the actual drain plug. I've heard a few stories of people trying to open the the drain plug and it braking off, resulting in a new radiator. Also, look into replacing any and all hose while you're at it, along with you belt. Might as well replace everything while you're in there now...
    2010 Equinox LT
    2.4, 6 speed auto, power lift gate, remote start, bluetooth, xm.

1995 Cheyenne C1500 ext. cab(my baby, my first truck)
    5.0, 5 speed, Silverado appearance package, power nothing, bucket seats and console Silverado, painted black interior, eBay halo headlights, eBay chrome tails, eBay cai, dual Flowmaster 40's w/no cats, 15x7 American Racing Hopsters, Walmart fog lights, SS mirrors

Quote Originally Posted by Mean_Green_95 View Post