GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

Default I'm back Baby.. Vinyl Panels and Paint color?

Greeting everyone... Great to be here!

Long time Chevy owner who's not been driving a Chevy this last year until I this morning.

I just purchased an 1987 Silverado C10 Shortbed as a project/weekend truck. Mostly the Truck is in great condition for stock .. It's not the original paint.. the paint looks new except for rust is peaking through in small spots on the doors and on the outside of the tail gate.

I test drove the Truck for about a half an hour hard.. engine was very clean and strong, transmission shifted very nicely.. no leaking or burning.. no sounds or smells... I'm not a mechanic, but I think I stole the damn thing!

A few questions Questions:

Going in, I know I've got a long road ahead .. and well I asked for it...

#1 The paint looks good, but I want to deal with any Rust NOW without doing a full paint job.. and I'd like to do it myself some how. The original color was a much lighter metalic blue I've see before on these stock 80s C10s. The new paint is a turquoise Blue.. see pic below. Does this color look like any Chevy stock color? How can I find a color match if prior owner has no idea?

#2.. I don't have a picture, but the truck has a really nice Black Vinyl Headboard with built in speakers. I really like it. In fact I'd like to change out the interior door panels to the same style. Anybody know where I can get these?

#3. The truck has powerlocks and windows. The power windows are deadly slow. Since I plan on changing the interior panel... I wonder how bad/expensive it would be to covert to manual windows and locks? Is the conversion easy? What can I expect?