GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

Default Sub problem - one sucks in the other pushes out?

Wassup guys...
    So I've recently isntalled a 2000watt American legacy amp in my 96 2 door tahoe (**** brand, I know... but it was in my budget), and I'm having some weird problems. I threw them in a regular sealed box I bought at a local audio place for $50, so nothing special. When ever the bass hits on the speaker, one 12" CVR kicker pushes out (like it normally should) and the other "sucks inwards". Theyre both in sync, just one pushes out and the other sucks in! I have no clue why this is, but I know it cant be good. I'm new to car audio in general and I know the bass can hit harder than it is.

Also, the rear panel of the amp has an HPF,LPF, bassboost, and gain knobs. each one is clockwise to turn. Which settings should these primarily be on?

I know the description of the amp was pretty vague, but if you need any more info on it I would be glad to look behind it, take a picture, or tell you. Like I said, pretty new to this all but I know I'm not getting the bass I should.

Thanks in advance

voltage is opposite on the one making it opporate in reverse

sounds to me like you got a bad box? are the 2 speakers sepperated in the box by a piece of wood? if so i would take on the subs out and run it and see if air leaks in the other side thats my guess ... i could be wrong that and how do you have them wired... im sure some one here has dealt with this problem
    06 silverado

How do I fix the voltage thing?
    The box doesn't have a piece of wood in the middle. As far as I know it could have been very well cheaply made, I mean I payed $50 for it lol but it looks decent. and I believe I wired it up in series because the parallel wire job would have dropped it to 2 ohms, and the amp I believe is rated for 4 ohm max