GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 1 of 2 12 Last Post byLast Post by

Default "ticking" sound while accelerating

Hey everyone.

I have a 1995 chevy silverado, 1500, 350 5.7L

for quite a while now, theres been a pretty loud ticking noise that scales with my rpms as i accelerate, heard inside the cab, i cant figure out what it is. It seems to only make noise inside the cab when its in drive, but when its in park, its heard outside the truck quite loud, but no sound made inside.

I recently had a set of long tube hooker headers installed, true duals thru flowmaster 40 series exhaust, so im assuming the problems coming from that, but ive tightened down my headers and whatnot, just have no clue how to diagnose how to solve the problem.

Since im a student i cant afford to take her into GM and have them figure it out for me, so i was wondering if anyone had a idea as to what is exactly causing the sound and how to fix it.

Sr. Engineer

Probably the headers. Did you get new manifold gaskets or re-use the old ones?

Sr. Apprentice

On my 01 2500HD 6.0L it does the same thing. It has been doin it for atleast 50k and the mechanics didnt see it as a big deal. So im not sure if its the same thing or not.

2007 Z71 Silverado 1500 LT NNBS
    5.3L
    Custom Dual Exhaust
    2.25" ReadyLift
    285/65-R18 Kumho's
    Factory Steps
    Big Tex Cattle Guard
    Delta Pro Tool Box
    Chrome Door Handles
    WeatherTech Floormats
    Spray In Bedliner

I used the new supplied gaskets with the graders, I had a shop do the whole exhaust. It was too long ago for me to bring it back and have a free fix. Any easy way to tell if the gaskets are still good without taking off the headers?

Quote Originally Posted by thattallguy32 View Post
    Hey everyone.

I have a 1995 chevy silverado, 1500, 350 5.7L