GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Jr. Apprentice
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Vancouver BC Canada
    Posts
    22

    Default How do you reset your ECU?

    When i bought my truck the previous owner had a programmer and had loaded it onto the ECU. Now he had lost the programing unit so i cant unload the software. I have a Hypertech programmer now and i want to be able to tune. But my new programmer errors out because it already has one on it.

    Main reason is the already loaded program has the firm shift on and i just installed a new transmission with a custom shift kit. MAN IT SHIFTS HARD now haha Well only into first really.

    I was told by Hypertech that only a dealer could reset it. True?
    2000 Silverado Z71 4x4 fully loaded. 6L Swap, Fully built 4l60E Transmission w/ custom shift kit, intake, Edelbrock headers, custom 3" exhaust, MSD wires, 3" lift, 33" tires, Hypertec Programmer.

  2. #2

    Cool How do you reset your ecu?

    You will have to take your truck to a dealer and have them reflash your trucks ecu. This can be good as you will get all the factory lastest updates. After they reflash your ecu drive it for about 200 to 300 miles and then install your programmer.

  3. #3

    Default

    I think, if u go ahead and unplug the ground from the battery over night it can work.
    Its what i been told ?!

    1996 Suburban K3500 SLT DUALLY
    1988 Camaro RS 383 stroker LT1
    1992 32' Aero-tek Race Boat, 600 CI BBC
    WE CAN STICK A DIESEL IN ANYTHING
    SPECIALIZED IN CUSTOM CONVERSIONS OF ANY KIND
    Scott:glasses:

  4. #4
    Jr. Apprentice
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Vancouver BC Canada
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Battery was off for a few months while i built my motor and transmission, no worky.

    guess i'll bring her in to the dealer when i get a chance
    2000 Silverado Z71 4x4 fully loaded. 6L Swap, Fully built 4l60E Transmission w/ custom shift kit, intake, Edelbrock headers, custom 3" exhaust, MSD wires, 3" lift, 33" tires, Hypertec Programmer.

  5. #5
    Jr. Mechanic
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Deep River Ontario
    Posts
    100

    Default

    the remove the battery trick only works for "soft" programming, not the stuff that the hypertech and others would change. it might be worth it to find out what programmer was used on the truck before, and find one used to return to stock and try hypertech, depending on how much they will charge you to flash the PCM

  6. #6

    Thumbs up How to reset Chevrolet ECU or ECM

    You need a tech 2 scanner or a j2534 programmer plus a subscriptions to TIS2WEB to get the data that has to be loaded on your ECU.
    I had exactly the same problem and a guy on the West Coast reflashed mine for $99 dollars.
    You can find them on this website: (I hope it helps) www.speedometergaugerepair.com

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by silveradotrailblazer View Post
    You will have to take your truck to a dealer and have them reflash your trucks ecu. This can be good as you will get all the factory lastest updates. After they reflash your ecu drive it for about 200 to 300 miles and then install your programmer.
    I agree you need to get it re-flashed. The dealer can do it or like others have said an aftermarket shop that has a programming pass through scanner can do it too. Call the dealer and ask what they will charge you. Then call around to some good repair shops and ask them who in town can re-flash a GM computer. Most shops charge $75 - $100 to do it around the West Coast.
    Jim

    2004 SILVERADO 2500HD LS
    Pro Comp Leveling Kit
    285-75-16 Cooper ST All Terrains
    Pro Comp Programmer
    Bilstein Shocks
    Linux Bed Liner
    Tinted Windows



    Other rides:

    1967 Landcruiser <350 Chevy>
    1970 Camaro
    1990 Geo Metro Convertible
    2007 FJ Cruiser

Similar Threads

  1. security reset
    By terryd in forum GM Powertrain
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-21-2010, 07:34 AM
  2. Speedometer Reset
    By lancer in forum General Chevy & GM Tech Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-06-2010, 10:28 AM
  3. How to reset
    By RangerJ in forum Chevy Silverado Forum (GMC Sierra)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-21-2009, 08:17 AM
  4. oil light reset
    By mashburn in forum General Chevy & GM Tech Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-14-2009, 01:27 AM
  5. computer reset
    By Ohio Tahoe in forum Performance & Fuel
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-19-2009, 11:17 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •