GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

Question 99 suburban coolent usage

hey guys,this is my first try at this,so here go's I have a 99 suburban with 135k on it. It mysterisly gos through coolent, about a quart every 1200 mi,It had intake gaskets at about 100k,sometimes it will miss at start up,but then clears out and will run fine,also reasently had fuel injectors,cap&rotor,plugs and wires. any ideas? also the cooling system holds pressure

Master Mechanic Silverado Junkie's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by jeffrness View Post
    hey guys,this is my first try at this,so here go's I have a 99 suburban with 135k on it. It mysterisly gos through coolent, about a quart every 1200 mi,It had intake gaskets at about 100k,sometimes it will miss at start up,but then clears out and will run fine,also reasently had fuel injectors,cap&rotor,plugs and wires. any ideas? also the cooling system holds pressure
    Well if you keep having to add coolant then its going somehwere. Either you have a leak in a head, head gasket, intake manifold gasket, intake manifold, waterpump, radiator, or a radiator hose. Its leaking somewhere outside to where you could see it by getting under the hood or its leaking in your motor and being burnt off or mixing with your oil. Start by looking all around your motor and look at your oil color. That would help determine where the leak is comong from.
    1995 Silverado,Z71, 3-inch lift,2-inch leveling kit, SkyJacker Suspension, short ram-air intake, throttle body spacer, MSD ignition coil, straight pipes

I would probably start by putting a cooling system pressure tester (Autozone and maybe other places lend them out) on it. Many time, you can find the leak if the system is pressured up cold.
    '98 K1500 Suburban LS 5.7 L 4L60E NV246 ARB
    '92 Ford Explorer XLT 4x4 4.0 L A4LD BW13-54 Trac-loc rear