GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 13 of 13
  1. #11
    Legend
    stephan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Far West, Oregon USA,
    Posts
    8,606
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Awww bwhitt86, you don't know what you're talkin about... ha ha ha

    How far back is a special harness required to do an aftermarket stereo install. Does it have more to do with which accessories a truck came with or is it just according to model year? Thanks for your post
    1988 Chevy C-3500 2wd (no pic)
    350 c.i. 5.7 L Stock Block, 4 Bolt Mains
    L-31 Vortec Heads, Edelbrock Cam & Intake,
    Holley 650, Flowtech Headers, Magnaflow exh.
    Jet Trans 700R4, B&M Ratchet, 4:10 gears,
    3" susp. lift kit "shadetree"
    No rev limiter, No speed limiter lol


  2. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stephan View Post
    Awww bwhitt86, you don't know what you're talkin about... ha ha ha

    How far back is a special harness required to do an aftermarket stereo install. Does it have more to do with which accessories a truck came with or is it just according to model year? Thanks for your post
    Haha. Yeah so they started using data wires instead of accessories and also using the speakers for the chime instead of a separate module in 03. In most cases you can just run a accessory from the ignition harness in the 03-06 style bodies but you will loose your door chime and theres no way around that without the harness. The 07 and up ones though do have weird things ran through the radio and NEED the lan harness. I do remember in like 03 when they first started doing that it was a bitch cause no one made a special harness yet and you actually had to do a relocation harness which meant you had to keep the stock radio wired up and put it somewhere like behind the seats so the chime would work. Pain in the ass. But now scosche and metra are really up to date and get the new harnesses out real quick. Like I was sayin basically any gm vehicle with the exception of a few need those harnesses from 03 and up or even earlier in some cases. I hate General Motors for doing that. And actually the newer Malibus (not the newest ones but like 05 or so I cant really remember to tell you the truth) need a special kit because it displays the oil temp and some other things on the radio. Its like 3 or 400 bucks. Thank god they only made the malibus like that.

  3. #13
    Legend
    stephan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Far West, Oregon USA,
    Posts
    8,606
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Thanks for the info bwhitt. I appreciate it
    1988 Chevy C-3500 2wd (no pic)
    350 c.i. 5.7 L Stock Block, 4 Bolt Mains
    L-31 Vortec Heads, Edelbrock Cam & Intake,
    Holley 650, Flowtech Headers, Magnaflow exh.
    Jet Trans 700R4, B&M Ratchet, 4:10 gears,
    3" susp. lift kit "shadetree"
    No rev limiter, No speed limiter lol


Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Stock Head Unit Button Lights Serviceable?
    By sje0123 in forum Lighting Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-20-2010, 08:45 PM
  2. Got my new head unit in
    By kotin9 in forum Audio, Video & Gadget Tech
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-23-2009, 11:19 PM
  3. Head Unit Help!
    By chevycamarado in forum Audio, Video & Gadget Tech
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-14-2009, 09:13 PM
  4. new head unit help
    By rbmurphy in forum Audio, Video & Gadget Tech
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-14-2009, 12:10 PM
  5. help head unit
    By 4gstarion in forum Audio, Video & Gadget Tech
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-25-2008, 06:29 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •