GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

Question Has anyone ever seen a Truck like this??? GMC Topkick Conversion

Hello,
    I'm new to the fourm, and in need of a little assistance... Has anyone ever seen a Truck like this ???
    Trying to do some research but I can't seem to find any info. on them. I'm particularly interested in the White & Blue Ones... The Red one is similar, and I thought it might help jog someones memory...
    Here are some pics... Just can't figure out who did the conversion or if they are Factory Builds... If they are convesions, What were they called ??? All three are 1992 GMC Topkicks w/Cat 3116, Eaton Fuller 10's. Except the red one. It has a 13 speed. Other than that I'm at a stand still... Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	92 GMC TOPKICK 0042 75%.jpg 
Views:	2103 
Size:	97.2 KB 
ID:	19151Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1101667290lb.jpg 
Views:	1255 
Size:	102.1 KB 
ID:	19153Click image for larger version. 

Name:	GMC Topkick_12.jpg 
Views:	1056 
Size:	33.9 KB 
ID:	19152
    VIN on the White One: VIN 1GDM7H1J3NJ501495

Thanks for your time,
    Michael Maglio

Contact info.
    Phone: 727-424-8564
    E-mail: 87shredr@tampabay.rr.com

Welcome to the site. I think that if you google 'toterhomes' or '5th wheel tractors' you might find out what the proper name for what these are called is. I saw tractors like this pulling small team race trailers and some just towing huge 5th wheels. A company in Indiana used to make the conversions for 'over the road' drivers that wanted a bigger sleeper for semi's but they also had a line for F650s and Topkicks. Look under sleeper conversions; sorry don't recall the name of the company.
    Last edited by BluBurb89; 07-20-2010 at 05:47 PM.

1989 R1500 Silverado Suburban
    5.7L, TBI w/ Dual remote oil filters,