GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1

    Default AC pressure after changing compressor ????????

    Hi, i need to know how much pressure i need to fill in my 1996 Suburban !

    It has rear AC aswell.

    Any help would be very much apriciated .

    THANKS

    PS, maybe somebody knows how much goes in a 88 Camaro also ???? LOL ( wifes car )

    1996 Suburban K3500 SLT DUALLY
    1988 Camaro RS 383 stroker LT1
    1992 32' Aero-tek Race Boat, 600 CI BBC
    WE CAN STICK A DIESEL IN ANYTHING
    SPECIALIZED IN CUSTOM CONVERSIONS OF ANY KIND
    Scott:glasses:

  2. #2
    Sr. Engineer
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA.
    Posts
    337

    Default

    Did you add in oil to the COmpressor as well??

    And put a vaccuum on the system??

    If those are in place, it should take about 3 - 4 cans easily.

    Do it with manifold guages, then you can watch the pressure build, and stop when it gets to 40 - 45 Low side.

    I don't believe the fact of having rear air makes a difference, but I could be very wrong on that assumption.

    ---------- Post added at 11:21 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:19 PM ----------

    If you put on a new compressor and therefore the system is empty.

    If not done as well, change out the accumulator and the orifice tube.

  3. #3
    Legend
    murdog94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Cloquet, Minnesota, United States
    Posts
    8,198
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MightyMax View Post
    Did you add in oil to the COmpressor as well??

    And put a vaccuum on the system??

    If those are in place, it should take about 3 - 4 cans easily.

    Do it with manifold guages, then you can watch the pressure build, and stop when it gets to 40 - 45 Low side.

    I don't believe the fact of having rear air makes a difference, but I could be very wrong on that assumption.

    ---------- Post added at 11:21 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:19 PM ----------

    If you put on a new compressor and therefore the system is empty.

    If not done as well, change out the accumulator and the orifice tube.
    X2... And yes 40 -45 MAX PSI depending on temp, which most of the R134a cans have a temp guide, on what the proper charge is for the ambient temp.
    Mike

    Currently

    1997 Chevy S-10 Blazer 4X4 with 330K miles and counting (Hunting rig).

    2009 Saturn Aura XE (wifes car)

    2011 F-150 Crew 4X4

    "Hold it to the floor till you see God.... Then Brake!!!!"

  4. #4

    Default

    Thank u all, but i have a 30# can and REAL gauges to fill the AC , also yes...oil in and vaccum done..-28 !!!!
    but @ 45 PSI my compressor wont even turn on.....at 65 it will work fine...??????????????????????????mmmmhhh

  5. #5
    Legend
    murdog94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Cloquet, Minnesota, United States
    Posts
    8,198
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Seems that your high pressure switch has had it. And you are at 45PSI on the low side with the compressor running? not to be stupid just confused because i know that real guages allow for more accuracy. but you should have a 3lb system. So i would have installed 3lbs and gone from there. but that is why i am confused because your low side should be 45lb with the compressor engaged. If the compressor is off then it isnt sucking on the low pressure site to lower the system pressure.

  6. #6

    Default

    When the compressor is running it reads 55-60 PSI on low and about 250 on high !!!!after turning it off, it reads 75 on both !!! mmmmmhhhhh I'M LOST ..LOL

    Tomorrow i will bring it to an AC shop and let them figure this SH[T out..hahaha

    98 degree down here today ....sweting my a$$ off.

  7. #7
    Legend
    murdog94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Cloquet, Minnesota, United States
    Posts
    8,198
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Hmm sorry man. Confussed is right.. Is it cold at least?? And do you know how many lbs of R134a you put in? But it really seems like you have a bad high pressure switch. And or else a low pressure switch depending on which you are jumping to get the compressor to run...

  8. #8

    Default

    Not jumping any...just filling it untill ~ 60 and then it comes on !!!!! and yes its cold but i still have a small leak in my line..lol thats why i filled it new ( i thought i fixed the leak ) THOUGHT !!!!!! is the main word....lol I found out that J&B weld is not strong enough on aluminum AC pipes...hehehe

  9. #9
    Legend
    murdog94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Cloquet, Minnesota, United States
    Posts
    8,198
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    WEll thanks for the insight.. and that may be some of your issue is a the leak may not be allowing the proper pressure at the actual switches.. But i would lean twards a bad low pressur switch then. Since it is supposed to tell the compressor to kick on when you obviously have enough pressure.

  10. #10

    Default

    THANKS, i look into it !!!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. AC Compressor
    By ruebeng28 in forum General Chevy & GM Tech Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-19-2009, 10:00 PM
  2. AC compressor
    By 99 Z71 in forum General Chevy & GM Tech Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-17-2009, 12:34 PM
  3. A/c compressor...
    By bUCKOLA in forum Chevy Silverado Forum (GMC Sierra)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-22-2009, 04:47 PM
  4. WTB Want to Buy A/C Compressor
    By thePhilster in forum General Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-24-2008, 07:32 AM
  5. FS: Air compressor
    By sbw9056 in forum General Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-29-2008, 10:10 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •