GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

Default 2000 Silverado Crank 3 times to start

Newbie here, thanks for any advice you can give.

My 2000 Silverado (105k) doesn't want to start until the third time cranking on cold starts, or even after sitting for 15 minutes or more. The 3 times rule goes for cranking the engine, or for just turning the ignition on for a few seconds, off for a few seconds, on for a few seconds... 3 times.

I replaced the fuel filter a week ago. The old filter was definitely in need of replacement and was fairly clogged up.

I swapped the horn and fuel pump relays (identical) and no change in symptom.

I pulled the vacuum line from the fuel pressure regulator and it was bone dry, not even a trace of fuel.

(MAF sensor was replaced too, fixing some bogging above 3k rpm)

So, I'm unfortunately leaning towards a fuel pump.

Book says 55-62psi with key ON engine OFF. I heard that Autozone could check fuel pressure. Am I just watching to see what the pressure looks like after the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd times I cycle the key? What should I be looking for?

What else should I be looking at?

Jr. Apprentice

With the fuel pressure gauge attached, turn the key on (engine off). Don't cyle the ignition on/off two or three times. As you said, pressure should be 55-62 psi. Watch the gauge. The pressure should drop no more than 5 psi in 10 minutes.

A fuel system that drops more than 5 psi in 10 minutes has a leak in one or more of the following areas:

The fuel pump check valve
    The fuel pump flex pipe
    The valve or valve seat within the fuel pressure regulator
    The fuel injectors

Relieve the pressure to 10 psi and watch the gauge for 10 minutes. The pressure should not drop more than 2 psi in 10 minutes. If it does, this would also indicate a leaking check valve in the fuel pump.