GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Jr. Apprentice
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    23
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default New insturment cluster now truck will not start.

    Hey I found an instrument cluster in the junk yard pulled it and put it in the burban. Burb is a 95 truck was a 98 excatly the same on looks front and back. I just tried disconnecting the battery and letting it sit for about half an hour so I guess I will see if anybody knows what I should do. Drop me a line.

    Tabor.

  2. #2
    Jr. Apprentice
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    23
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    That did not work

  3. #3
    Legend
    murdog94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Cloquet, Minnesota, United States
    Posts
    8,198
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Well the 98 wont work since it is OBDII (and gets most of its signals from the PCM, not the actual sensors like in your 1995), and i would reinstall the old cluster to make sure that is the actual fault since there is a long list that could be the issue.
    Mike

    Currently

    1997 Chevy S-10 Blazer 4X4 with 330K miles and counting (Hunting rig).

    2009 Saturn Aura XE (wifes car)

    2011 F-150 Crew 4X4

    "Hold it to the floor till you see God.... Then Brake!!!!"

  4. #4
    Jr. Apprentice
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    23
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Thanks man when I get off tomorrow I will do that. I am having one heck of a time finding a 95 cluster. Any pointers on where to look.

  5. #5

    Default

    d-dinstruments rebuilds them, they advertise on the site.

  6. #6
    Legend
    murdog94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Cloquet, Minnesota, United States
    Posts
    8,198
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    And or else for me I hit up the local junk yards and call around. Another option is EBay as well. If you dont want to have them rebuilt that is.
    Mike

    Currently

    1997 Chevy S-10 Blazer 4X4 with 330K miles and counting (Hunting rig).

    2009 Saturn Aura XE (wifes car)

    2011 F-150 Crew 4X4

    "Hold it to the floor till you see God.... Then Brake!!!!"

  7. #7
    Jr. Apprentice
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    23
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I ended up taking them both to a radio guy in town who tested them for me said they where both good gonna keep one for step moters because they are hard to find. Still having the instrument cluster reading problem the not starting problem was a what I would call best buy wireing job they tapped int to the ignition wire for a six disc changer and the connection was bad. I have to try and track down a diagram. I think I either have a short some where under the dash, a bad ground in the same area (because I have cleaned up all the other grounds). Or I am loosing my speed-o sensor and tach sensor at the same time.

  8. #8
    Legend
    murdog94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Cloquet, Minnesota, United States
    Posts
    8,198
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Well at least your got it running again. and i would for sure look for some more messed up wirring in the PCM harness under the dash since the chances of them both going out at the same time are kinda astronomical and the Tach signal comes from the ignition. Also something to look into is a bad PCM since if i remeber correctly the information from the ignition for the tach, and the speedo run thru the PSM before running to your cluster.
    Mike

    Currently

    1997 Chevy S-10 Blazer 4X4 with 330K miles and counting (Hunting rig).

    2009 Saturn Aura XE (wifes car)

    2011 F-150 Crew 4X4

    "Hold it to the floor till you see God.... Then Brake!!!!"

  9. #9
    Jr. Apprentice
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    23
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I had already put a pcm in. I checked out the harness on the transmission and did some more bing searches. Found that symptoms can be from an ignition switch going bad. Looked and it seems to be the only thing left to do will let yall know.

  10. #10
    Jr. Apprentice
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    23
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    It was the ignition switch.

Similar Threads

  1. Truck won't start
    By eyegore in forum General Chevy & GM Tech Questions
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 03-07-2011, 07:50 AM
  2. truck won't start
    By firecapt44 in forum General Chevy & GM Tech Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-04-2010, 09:50 AM
  3. 05 tailblazer insturment cluster
    By kahtz@msn.com in forum Chevy Trailblazer Forum (GMC Envoy)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-29-2010, 03:15 PM
  4. Truck Won't Start
    By GymRat in forum General Chevy & GM Tech Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-29-2009, 09:00 AM
  5. WTB: Insturment Cluster
    By homer911 in forum General Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-27-2008, 09:42 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •