GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 1 of 3 123 Last Post byLast Post by

Default Cutting top off Suburban

Hey, I am NOT a techie but want to buy a 91 or older suburban and chop the top and make it a convertible. Anyone done this? Any guidance? Thanks.

Default Cutting top off Suburban

Hey, I am not a techie but thinking about buying a 91 suburban and cutting the top off and making a convertible. Anyone ever tried this and have any advice?

I've seen it done a couple times on Pirate 4x4, and frankly, I didn't like the way they looked. However, I'm totally biased because I could never wish such devastation on such a fine piece of classic engineering beauty. They usually chop them right after the back doors and put a bulkhead in right there to close in the cab. Then they build a tube cage over the "bed" and wheel the bejesus out of them.
    Christopher

1991 Chevy Suburban 1/2 ton 2WD w/ chevy SBC 350-3/4 ton drivetrain upgrade w/4.10 gears 200K miles
    2005 Saturn ION-2 Stock 277K miles
    1982 Bronco, 1993 Bronco (sold), 1971 M35A2 Deuce and a Half

There are 10 kinds of people, those who understand binary, and those who dont...

Remember kids, the only difference between screwing around and science is writing it down- Adam Savage

X2 what Crawdaddy said about chopping up a 'Burb.

I did something similar to my '91 Subaru Legacy....turned it into a truck.
    1999 Chevrolet Suburban LS K1500
    1991 Chevrolet S10 4.3L 4x4
    2005 Suzuki Forenza (GM/Daewoo)

Legend

Piermont,NY, back in Northern NJ now, But may be in IL soon....

There's a guy from LI,NY With one custom.. With about 20 TV's and a big audio system. Very sweet.. He has a Big bar going up the middle with some of the TV's..