GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
    Legend

Blog Entries

Default 1999 K2500 - Pads, rotors, calipers, wheel bearing assemblies, ABS sensor

This post is to document and hopefully help someone looking to do any of the following:

Change out brakes pads
    Remove rotors
    Swap out calipers
    Swap out the entire FRONT wheel bearing assemblies
    Replace the FRONT ABS sensor

The work done below was on a 1999 Chevy Suburban K2500 (3/4 ton) with 4WD. I don't know to which other application this applies. Hopefully, though, this will give someone a heads up on what to kind of expect.

I am not a mechanic! I am not an expert. Therefore please take the following as for reference only. I will am not in a position to tell you if this will be the same for your application. For some reason it seems the '99 Suburban K2500 is always the odd-man-out when it comes to doing anything mechanically. I'm not sure on the particulars but, again, hopefully this will be helpful to someone as to what to expect when working on their front end suspension.

If you have insight to anything here, please please feel free to add information so that I may put it in the post and/or add the information. Anything pertaining to what other trucks/applications this applies to, etc.

I apologize, again, as I'm unsure of the sizes of sockets and tools. This was done some time ago and I no longer have the sheet I was writing on to make notes for this Write up!

This is the complete start to finish of replacing the wheel assemblies, replacing the calipers, replacing the rotors, and replacing the pads. Pick and choose the steps as you see fit to what you want to do. I'll just run through the whole gamut.