GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 1 of 2 12 Last Post byLast Post by

Default Chip recommendations and other questions?

These are probably newbie questions but here goes....

1. I have a 1994 GMC Suburban K1500. Not looking to race the thing or anything like that, but I've heard that some chips not only improve performance but gas mileage. At least it did on my european sedan. What should I get?

2. How does one go about replacing the oddball stock stereo in the '94 with a DIN model without destrying the dashboard? Is there some kind of an adapter available?

3. Anyone ever seen an aftermarket center-hump under dash console that works with/around/inspite of the 4wd shifter?

Thanks in advance for your help.

First of all Welcome,PSP.

1. I'm not an expert at. So I'll let someone else take a stab at that one.

2. Yes there is an aftermarket kit with all the pieces at a good Stereo shop. Its the only way to go really. I had one in my 89 Chev Silverado. Looked, Mint!

3. I've only seen custom build under dash units. Years ago I build an over-head console (from visor to viser) for a friend. He put his CB, some switches and a Stereo up there it look sweet.

Good Luck!

Jamie

2007 Ford E250(Work van) (Ya, Ya, shut up!)
    1996 GMC Sierra SLE 1500 5.7L/4L60E

Legend

Quote Originally Posted by Cableguy View Post
    This fella from Minnesota might have some ideas

http://www.gmtruckclub.com/forum/sho...35&postcount=1
    There's more to that thread, but it seems to be missing now.

If you're looking for ideas on how to create your own center console, you might try searching through MP3car.com They have a lot of DIY'ers on that sort of thing.
    Patrick
    Rhode Island

Wish I could be of more help, I know the guys on my Fiero forum use lap tops to control their chips.