GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Default Misfire on My Votec

    I got a 98 K1500 with 350 Vortec and 5 speed, I changed the plugs, wires, cap, and rotor today and now there is a misfire on the passenger side. It didn't have a miss before but was in need of a tune up, I triple checked everything to make sure it was right and the only problem I had was a cheap screw from accel broke off while putting cap back on and I had to take the distributor out and drill it out and now zip tie holds the cap in place cause my parts guy didn't have a distributor I could get but the cap is on tight. I put the distributor back in the right place I believe but I have no idea what is going on I have true dual exhaust on it and the driverside seems fine if anybody would have some good info Please let me know. Thanks u

  2. #2

    Default

    What brand of spark plugs did you install??

  3. #3
    Legend
    stephan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Far West, Oregon USA,
    Posts
    8,606
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    The dist cap could be suspect if it isn't on straight. It would be easier if you would isolate which of the 4 on that side is the problem. Pull one wire at a time till you find it OR look for one of your new plug wires on that side to see if it's arcing. If you see no visible or audible arc, try looking after dark & see if you see any blue glow anywhere. If you have a multimeter check the resistance of those 4 wires. Sometimes you can get a bad one right out of the box. If all that fails to find it, pull your plugs & check them. You will probably find one that is wet or fouled out. At that point you will still have to decide if it's the plug or the wire.

    **edit I wouldn't buy a new distributor just because the hole is stripped. Just use a little longer screw & put a nut on the bottom to hold it. It might be a little bit of a pita the first time, but it's not like you'll have to change caps that often & it'll save you a lot of $$$.
    Last edited by stephan; 03-03-2011 at 07:44 PM.
    1988 Chevy C-3500 2wd (no pic)
    350 c.i. 5.7 L Stock Block, 4 Bolt Mains
    L-31 Vortec Heads, Edelbrock Cam & Intake,
    Holley 650, Flowtech Headers, Magnaflow exh.
    Jet Trans 700R4, B&M Ratchet, 4:10 gears,
    3" susp. lift kit "shadetree"
    No rev limiter, No speed limiter lol


  4. #4

    Default

    I put ACDelco Rapid Fires in it with omni spark wires, and accel cap and button

  5. #5

    Default

    find out what cylinders are missing, is it one, is it two, is it all of them? if its only one missing then probably not the cap. if two are missing then maybe you messed the firing order up, etc etc.
    "i dont think you got the picture. i got a beautiful picture. this baby happens to have an extra turn of speed, which is the only thing i care about. you dont understnad what happens do you? they make cars. they make 'em exactly the same way. one or two of 'em turn out to be something special. nobody knows why. i know why. i may be kiddin' myself, but i think i can make somethin' out of that sad little bucket of bolts." ~ Tennessee Steinmetz

  6. #6

    Default

    All the cylinders are getting fire got shocked a couple time lol and I pulled the plugs earlier and they looked fine wasn't wet, but the idling of the truck really never changed, I think it might be the distributor but ain't sure and I got the firing order right on it so I'm pretty lost ain't never had this happen before

  7. #7

    Default

    The plugs are the Iridium ACDelcos and were the same I took out of the truck, and I'll try the old wires in the morning and I'll have to get a code reader to read any codes in the morning

  8. #8

    Default

    Got the problem fixed and running good now, DO NOT ever buy them damn omni spark plug wires there junk, I put my old ones back on and no misfire and she is running great. I should have relized this cause I had the same problem on a 88 K1500 I had and did a tune up and got bad wires and put new autolite wires on it and it run fine so I believe I will get another set of them. Thanks for all the help guys

Similar Threads

  1. still have misfire help please
    By cable734 in forum GM Powertrain
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-16-2011, 08:39 AM
  2. #6 misfire
    By ScubaSteveo in forum GM Powertrain
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-14-2010, 09:11 PM
  3. Need a 96-98 votec
    By pychokenny in forum Engines Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-20-2010, 01:06 PM
  4. Misfire
    By OkieMike in forum GM Powertrain
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-04-2008, 06:43 AM
  5. Misfire
    By KingDNH in forum GM Powertrain
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-13-2008, 02:23 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •