GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 55
  1. #21

    Default

    Haven't gotten around to putting the drive in yet. I'm hoping to do that either tonight or over the weekend sometime. The problem is I have three drives ... have to copy the data from one to another and I want this new drive to be the master ... so will have to copy it all over I guess and run the 40 GB as a slave.

    Steve
    10 Chevy Traverse LT AWD
    02 Chevy Trailblazer LS (110K+ miles - loaded except for 4WD - WRECKED!)
    99 Chevy Cavalier LS (105K+ miles - commuter car)
    78 Chevy Suburban Silverado (454, 3/4 ton)
    62 GMC 3/4 ton Pickup (350 police interceptor)

    Remember: Search Before Posting | Fill out Your Profile & Signature
    Follow Us Please: facebook.com/gmtruckclub | twitter.com/gmtruckclub
    Support GMTC: Help the site, contribute today

  2. #22

    Default

    Does anyone know of a good disk-to-disk imager or copy tool? I downloaded a free 15-day trial of Norton Ghost ... guess what, you can do everything but actually use the software to copy or make a backup! ARGH.

    I simply want to copy the contents from the current 40 GB drive (including windows) onto the new 80 GB drive and then plug in the old 30GB drive and I can simply manually copy all of the files from that one onto the 80 GB, then i'll plug in the 40 GB again to run as drive D: and I'll format that while I'm at it.

    Anyone got any a good suggestion on this?
    Last edited by Steve; 07-13-2007 at 01:50 PM.

    Steve
    10 Chevy Traverse LT AWD
    02 Chevy Trailblazer LS (110K+ miles - loaded except for 4WD - WRECKED!)
    99 Chevy Cavalier LS (105K+ miles - commuter car)
    78 Chevy Suburban Silverado (454, 3/4 ton)
    62 GMC 3/4 ton Pickup (350 police interceptor)

    Remember: Search Before Posting | Fill out Your Profile & Signature
    Follow Us Please: facebook.com/gmtruckclub | twitter.com/gmtruckclub
    Support GMTC: Help the site, contribute today

  3. #23
    Legend
    TrailLeadr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Coventry, Rhode Island
    Posts
    3,103

    Default

    I must have missed this thread while I was out on vaca.
    What's the current status of Franken-server? What's needed?

    I have a 2.8Ghz Celeron, and a 2.93ghz Celeron D. I think the celeron D exceeds your FSB requirements (pretty sure it runs at 533mhz), but the 2.8 doesn't. Both are 478 pin. I already donated my memory over to my wife's computer. I think I have a 128mb PCI video card. I'll have to look.
    Patrick
    Rhode Island


  4. #24
    Legend
    TrailLeadr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Coventry, Rhode Island
    Posts
    3,103

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve View Post
    Does anyone know of a good disk-to-disk imager or copy tool? I downloaded a free 15-day trial of Norton Ghost ... guess what, you can do everything but actually use the software to copy or make a backup! ARGH.

    I simply want to copy the contents on the current 40 GB drive (including windows) onto the new 80 GB drive and then plug in the old 30GB drive and I can simply manually copy all of the files from that one onto the 80 GB, then i'll plug in the 40 GB again to run as drive D: and I'll format that while I'm at it.

    Anyone got any a good suggestion on this?
    If that drive Jamie sent you is a Seagate, you might check Seagate support pages for their disk manager software that's bundled with their new hard drives. I actually have a full copy of ghost, and was not impressed when I found out I would be stuck with two partitions.

    The only problem with software like ghost is that it copies the partition info also. I have a 230gb hd that was upgraded from a 20gb. Now on the 230gb, I now have 2 partitions, one is 20gb, and the other is 210gb.
    Patrick
    Rhode Island


  5. #25
    Sr. Apprentice JeffW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Portland, Maine
    Posts
    69

    Default

    you could always do it with dos if u want to spend some time.. copy olddrive: *.* newdrive:
    Jeff - Maine

    2007 Silverado Classic V6 4.3L Vortec 4X4

  6. #26

    Default

    This is the first time I've ever moved the whole contents from one drive to another drive. I need it to copy everything so that it's bootable when I make th 80 GB the master drive.

    Steve
    10 Chevy Traverse LT AWD
    02 Chevy Trailblazer LS (110K+ miles - loaded except for 4WD - WRECKED!)
    99 Chevy Cavalier LS (105K+ miles - commuter car)
    78 Chevy Suburban Silverado (454, 3/4 ton)
    62 GMC 3/4 ton Pickup (350 police interceptor)

    Remember: Search Before Posting | Fill out Your Profile & Signature
    Follow Us Please: facebook.com/gmtruckclub | twitter.com/gmtruckclub
    Support GMTC: Help the site, contribute today

  7. #27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TrailLeadr View Post
    If that drive Jamie sent you is a Seagate, you might check Seagate support pages for their disk manager software that's bundled with their new hard drives. I actually have a full copy of ghost, and was not impressed when I found out I would be stuck with two partitions.

    The only problem with software like ghost is that it copies the partition info also. I have a 230gb hd that was upgraded from a 20gb. Now on the 230gb, I now have 2 partitions, one is 20gb, and the other is 210gb.
    Hah, yes they offer a special Seagate tool for that, thanks!

    http://www.seagate.com/ww/v/index.js...00dd04090aRCRD

    Steve
    10 Chevy Traverse LT AWD
    02 Chevy Trailblazer LS (110K+ miles - loaded except for 4WD - WRECKED!)
    99 Chevy Cavalier LS (105K+ miles - commuter car)
    78 Chevy Suburban Silverado (454, 3/4 ton)
    62 GMC 3/4 ton Pickup (350 police interceptor)

    Remember: Search Before Posting | Fill out Your Profile & Signature
    Follow Us Please: facebook.com/gmtruckclub | twitter.com/gmtruckclub
    Support GMTC: Help the site, contribute today

  8. #28
    Moderator
    Davandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Haasdonk Belgium
    Posts
    1,550

    Default

    The only problem with [COLOR=blue! important][FONT=verdana, geneva, lucida, 'lucida grande', arial, helvetica, sans-serif][COLOR=blue! important][FONT=verdana, geneva, lucida, 'lucida grande', arial, helvetica, sans-serif]software[/FONT][/FONT][/COLOR][/COLOR] like ghost is that it copies the partition info also. I have a 230gb hd that was upgraded from a 20gb. Now on the 230gb, I now have 2 partitions, one is 20gb, and the other is 210gb.
    The latest ghost doesn't do that anymore the software takes the h
    entire partition.
    Peter Smet
    Haasdonk, Belgium

  9. #29

    Default

    what davandy said...I don't know about the older versions of ghost, but the pas couple will allow you to expand the partition size to the size of the new drive. Similarly, if you are moving to a smaller drive for some reason, but the actual amount of data will fit on the smaller drive, it'll sink the partition. A goog non-destructive partion management app is Partition Magic. All I can say is it's just short of magic what it can do. You can create, delete, resize, split, merge, and a buttload of other things..
    Christopher

    1991 Chevy Suburban 1/2 ton 2WD w/ chevy SBC 350-3/4 ton drivetrain upgrade w/4.10 gears 200K miles
    2005 Saturn ION-2 Stock 265K miles
    1982 Bronco, 1993 Bronco (sold), 1971 M35A2 Deuce and a Half



    There are 10 kinds of people, those who understand binary, and those who dont...

    Remember kids, the only difference between screwing around and science is writing it down- Adam Savage

  10. #30
    Legend
    TrailLeadr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Coventry, Rhode Island
    Posts
    3,103

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TrailLeadr View Post
    I must have missed this thread while I was out on vaca.
    What's the current status of Franken-server? What's needed?

    I have a 2.8Ghz Celeron, and a 2.93ghz Celeron D. I think the celeron D exceeds your FSB requirements (pretty sure it runs at 533mhz), but the 2.8 doesn't. Both are 478 pin. I already donated my memory over to my wife's computer. I think I have a 128mb PCI video card. I'll have to look.
    Getting back to my first post on this subject....see quote
    Patrick
    Rhode Island


Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. More memory please!
    By Henchman in forum Announcements & Feedback
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-30-2009, 11:47 AM
  2. Memory test for old timers...
    By KidHauler in forum Chevy C/K Truck Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-01-2009, 05:01 PM
  3. What's your first car/truck memory?
    By Steve in forum Games Forum
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 07-08-2009, 02:04 AM
  4. Seat memory
    By thejms in forum Audio, Video & Gadget Tech
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-15-2009, 12:05 PM
  5. memory seats
    By amboyduke in forum Audio, Video & Gadget Tech
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2008, 07:23 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •