GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: changed engine

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    sebring fl
    Posts
    4
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default changed engine

    we put a 99 5.7 vortex 350 in my 2000 chevy 3500 that had a 5.7 vortex 350 when we tried to start it the engine would start right away but only run for 3 seconds then shut off if anybody can confirm what i have been told i would appreciate it the parts store said that even though the engine was the same i will have to get the computer to reconize the engine we put in, refering to fireing order etc. the second guy i spoke to said bull it should start and run but not real great till i have the crank sensor re learn. he said it will be $30.00. but when we hooked the engine readout it showed no codes can anybody help me thank you in advance cliff sebring fl

  2. #2

    Default

    try the MAP sensor. I had the same problem and it was the MAP sensor. Also try the vac lines on the engine too. And as long as its the same engine and same year it shouldn't matter. Even if its a few years diff. it shouldnt matter. Same trans too? As in did they both come from an auto or manual?
    Last edited by Crispyt; 05-24-2011 at 07:39 PM.
    1995 C1500 4.3L 2WD. JET TBI Spacer, JET stage 1 chip, 10mm Taylor custom wires, Pulstar Iridium Pulse Plugs.
    260k miles and still going strong...

  3. #3
    Legend
    stephan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Far West, Oregon USA,
    Posts
    8,606
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    mox nix on having to relearn the fireing order. Small blocks Chevys have had the same 1-8-4-3-6-5-7-2 firing order since the first one in 1955 lol
    1988 Chevy C-3500 2wd (no pic)
    350 c.i. 5.7 L Stock Block, 4 Bolt Mains
    L-31 Vortec Heads, Edelbrock Cam & Intake,
    Holley 650, Flowtech Headers, Magnaflow exh.
    Jet Trans 700R4, B&M Ratchet, 4:10 gears,
    3" susp. lift kit "shadetree"
    No rev limiter, No speed limiter lol


  4. #4

    Default

    It should run, sounds like something not hooked up right or not at all. I'd go over all my sensor and vaccuum connections.

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    sebring fl
    Posts
    4
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    thanks for the input

    ---------- Post added at 09:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:53 PM ----------

    i have learned that this year truck has a security shut down and it showes security light up on the dash any way to clear this.

    ---------- Post added at 09:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:56 PM ----------

    will try map sensor tomorrow have one from old motor and the trans is automatic in our truck and i assume the replacement motor was hooked to an automatic because it came out of a 99 chev van thanks cliff

Similar Threads

  1. What fluids need to be changed?
    By ZSI52 in forum GM Powertrain
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-10-2010, 06:44 PM
  2. Changed FPR and still have problem
    By pelican in forum General Chevy & GM Tech Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-18-2008, 01:36 PM
  3. changed the 02 sensor
    By bigbrett in forum Chevy Tahoe Forum (GMC Yukon, Cadillac Escalade)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-17-2008, 07:55 AM
  4. Do you think they have changed much?
    By dwill3015 in forum The Coffee Shop ~ Chit Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-12-2007, 08:23 AM
  5. 2x4 changed to 4x4?
    By trenchwarfare in forum Chevy Suburban Forum (GMC Yukon XL)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-01-2007, 10:35 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •