GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

Default 1994 project truck

I've recently traded one of my motorcycles for a 94 5.7L stepside....I'm a diesel mechanic so I need some expert advice on a 4l60e tranny which is something I know nothing about, give me a super 10 anyday of the week,

I've scanned and no codes are coming up
    I've got power to the E pin on the transmission harness connector

My problem is- Engine runs good in park at an idle or with throttle but while in gear it is sluggish. very slow starting. I can reset the ecm and it'll take of like a bat out of hell for about 1/2 a block if I stop and start its back to being sluggish.

I have noticed that in manual first it seems like it has a brake on. all other gears roll through fine except for the lack of starting power.

Dale

Legend
    Blog Entries

Sounds like you have a similar problem to what i had that was motor related. I would check fuel pressure, as well as the Crank Position sensor, and when was the last time it had a cap and rotor etc done??
    If it is still moving then the 4L60E is still working. if you loose gears or it starts to slip is when you have a malfunction. The sunshell is one of the more prone areas to fail, however that is for OD.. So i would look at motor related issues such as above since when my Distributor went bad it ran exactly like you are saying. and when you do a fuel pressure test you need to have 12-15PSI. before the filter.
    Mike

Currently

1997 Chevy S-10 Blazer 4X4 with 330K miles and counting (Hunting rig).

2009 Saturn Aura XE (wifes car)

2011 F-150 Crew 4X4

"Hold it to the floor till you see God.... Then Brake!!!!"