GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 1 of 2 12 Last Post byLast Post by

Hybrid View

Jr. Apprentice

Default Travel Trailer Towing Help with 1/2 ton

Hi, I am looking to purchase a travel trailer for the family (wife + 2 young boys) that will be towed with my 2009 1500 crew 4x4, below are some of the specifics:

3.42 gear
    6 sp transmission
    max trailer weight - 9,500lb (has HD cooling / towing package)
    GCWR - 15,000lb

I was looking at a Prime Time Tracer 2910BHS with the following specs:

Length - 33ft
    Dry Weight - 5,536lb
    Hitch - 589lb
    Cargo Capacity - 1,734lbs

I am very new to the RV'ing world. For the most part we intend on keeping the RV at a campsite for most the season but may take it on week long trips now and then, my guess is that I will only physically be towing the trailer 10-15 days each year. On the surfuce I think I should be ok with this setup but would love to hear from people experienced with towing RV's (or towing in general). Any thoughts or concerns with the above combination?

Thanks in advance for your time and input.
    Last edited by toleo; 07-29-2011 at 01:35 PM.
    Tony - Pittsburgh
    '09 Sierra SLT Crew 5.3L

Quote Originally Posted by toleo View Post
    Hi, I am looking to purchase a travel trailer for the family (wife + 2 young boys) that will be towed with my 2009 1500 crew 4x4, below are some of the specifics:

3.42 gear
    6 sp transmission
    max trailer weight - 9,500lb (has HD cooling / towing package)
    GCWR - 15,000lb

I was looking at a Prime Time Tracer 2910BHS with the following specs:

Length - 33ft
    Dry Weight - 5,536lb
    Hitch - 589lb
    Cargo Capacity - 1,734lbs