GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

Default I need help, or a priest to exorcise my truck

Friends,
    I have been working on vehicles for a good portion of my life, I am an amateur, but I'm good enough to have never taken a vehicle to a shop to get it repaired. Today may be a first for me.

Here is my situation with my 1998 Chevy Silverado 1500:
    Back Story:
    On Saturday I was driving and it began to rain, so I turned on my windshield wipers. As the rain let up I went to turn off my wipers, and the strangest thing happened, they didn't turn off. I thought to myself that this was weird. Then suddenly the left turn signal stayed lit, just solid, not blinking or anything. When I flipped the turn signal switch to left I got this irritating buzz sound. Tried the right turn signal and it worked fine.
    I get to my destination (windshield wipers still going with clear blue skies, and left turn signal remaining lit). I turn off the truck and I notice that now my daytime running lights have remained on. As well as the front left turn signal is also staying lit. The rear left turn signal is not on.

So this lead me to believe that it must be the turn signal switch that has gone bad in the truck, seems logical right? All symptoms are connected through this component. So I take the dash apart, and take the switch out. Ordered the part and waited.....got delivered yesterday, so when I came home from work I installed my new turn signal switch and thought everything would be ok.
    Keep in mind, because I was working with electronics I disconnected the battery. So I get my entire dash put back together, connect my battery just to make sure everything is working properly.