GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default 94 K1500. Want stronger springs for heavier loads. options?

Hello all.

I have a 94 K1500 with the Z71 package. I have had it awhile now and love it. Its the first full size I have owned. I am new to chevy trucks so please excuse me if I ask anything that would be obvious.

I have been using it to haul materials for different home improvement projects at my house and it usually does very well for me. However, the load capacity of the truck is not what I expected it would be for a truck of this size. 1 yard of fill almost killed the suspension on it. It was slammed to the ground almost. And The truck can barely hold 20 bags of concrete without taking a huge dip in the rear.

I want to beef up the suspension in the rear so that it can handle heavier loads including towing. What are some of my options?

I was contemplating weather 2500 springs from the same era would work with my 1500 frame. I have not gotten the chance to track down a 2500 so I can compare. A friend who is a chevy truck guy told me that the 1500 and 2500 leaf springs are interchangeable but the 3500 is not.

Thanks for any info guys!

Your best option would be a set of airbags. Cheaper than new springs and much much easier to install. Especially on a Mass truck almost 20 years old.
    When you hear hoofbeats, look for horses not zebras.

Do they make an air spring kit? Or are you talking about something like High-Jackers? I didnt realize that air springs could hold such weight. It may be something I look into. Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Bdiggy View Post
    Do they make an air spring kit? Or are you talking about something like High-Jackers? I didnt realize that air springs could hold such weight. It may be something I look into. Thanks