GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Time to replace my engine. what should i go with.

I have a 1983 K20 4x4 with a stock 350. I'm looking at upgrading to either a newer 6.0 or a 6 gen 454. Also what do you guys think I should do with the transmission A/T or M/T? I'm new to Chevy but have been working on Toyota's trucks for years. Also if anyone has done any one of the conversions what should I know about do a project like this before I start.

Legend
    Blog Entries

In your case it would be kind of tricky, mainly that yours is really old school obd1 so I am not familiar with it that far back. I have a firebird that is an obd2 system and I swapped in a obd1 LT1 drivetrain and it's the most reliable thing I own believe it or not. There is nothing to it mechanically, BUT I hope your wiring skills are good because it's quite a job. The most expensive part of an LS engine is the acessories on the front of the engine, and the adapters that would be needed to fit it into your truck. Anything can be done, it just depends on how bad you want it.

I'd go with a 6.0 with a 4L80E transmission. Theres numerous companies that have wiring harness and ECM's.
    :cool:

2005 Chevy Silverado Z71 Crew Cab
    6" Skyjacker lift w/Edlebrock dual front remote resoviour shocks, single rear remote. Rancho skid-plate.
    17" x 9" M/T Classic Lock Wheels, 35" BFG A/T or M/T tires
    4.10 PercisionGears w/factory locker, T/A Performance rear-end cover
    Banks CAI intake, ported throttlebody, JBA coated headers, over-sized Magnaflow cats, Magnaflow cat back exhaust, Diablo tuned
    B&M aluminum deep transmission pan
    Warn brush guard w/Warn 9.5 XP winch, PIAA bulbs, Line-X bedliner, AWS Black tool chest, Extang tonneau cover
    Weather Tech floor mats
    Cover-Craft seat covers
    Dash mat cover