GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 1 of 2 12 Last Post byLast Post by

Default Brake drum removal problem

Hi,

This is my first time working on drum brakes. My 1985 C20 Suburban has rear drum brakes. Per the manual, I jack up the rear wheel, remove the tire and *should* be able to pull the brake drum off. The brake drum is extremely rusty and won't budge. I've shot break-free fluid on the bolts and center and tried to pry the brake drum free. No good.

Looking it over carefully I see a single nut and bolt on the rear side. Manual doesn't mention removing this and right this second I don't have a wrench big enough. Am I supposed to remove this nut off the bolt on the rear?

if not, what are my options for getting this brake drum off?

Appreciate the help, I'm leaving the suburban jacked up in hopes some advice will rescue me :}

Thanks
    Chuk

Make sure you dont have the parking brake on.
    Try adjusting the brake adjustment through the back of the dust shield.
    Their may be a wear on the drum causing the shoes to be holding the drum on, adjusting the parking brake will sometimes move the shoes far enough out of the way to pull the drum off.
    If all else fails start hitting the inside lip of the drum with a BFH.

Their may be a wear on the drum causing the shoes to be holding the drum on,
    I would suspect this is the most common reason for a drum being hard to remove. The shoes wear on the drum, leaving a lip on the inside edge of the drum that can't clear the shoes. As noted, you'll need to go through the access hole in the backing plate with a couple of screwdrivers (one to push the adjuster pawl out of the way and one to rotate the star wheel) to retract the shoes.
    '98 K1500 Suburban LS 5.7 L 4L60E NV246 ARB
    '92 Ford Explorer XLT 4x4 4.0 L A4LD BW13-54 Trac-loc rear