GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

Default Headlight problem

Hey guys, newbie here so forgive me if this topic has been discussed to death. I have a '96 Z71 ext cab that is having headlight problems. I have replaced all four headlight bulbs, low and high beam. When the headlight switch is in the off or parking light position the DRL's work. However, if the switch is turned to the on position, I have no headlights. I installed a "new" switch from the local salvage yard, but no change. Any ideas?

did you lose anything else recently? ie turn signals, brake lights, etc.

Steve
    10 Chevy Traverse LT AWD
    02 Chevy Trailblazer LS (110K+ miles - loaded except for 4WD - WRECKED!)
    99 Chevy Cavalier LS (105K+ miles - commuter car)
    78 Chevy Suburban Silverado (454, 3/4 ton)
    62 GMC 3/4 ton Pickup (350 police interceptor)

Remember: Search Before Posting | Fill out Your Profile & Signature
    * I've been saying for years that I was going to change my username, and I finally did.

Not that I know of. Everything else seems to work. The blinkers go into a fast blink when I step on the brake.

How did the fuses for the lows and highs look?

Okay, went and checked the fuses, all good. Also checked the taillights again. When the light switch is in the off position, the blinkers work normally. When turn on the left blinker AND step on the brake, all the lights flash dimly and quickly (like the hazards have been turned on, but dim and too fast). With the right blinker on and stepping on the brake, the turn signal dims and speeds up, but doesn't activate the hazards.

Legend