GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Sr. Apprentice

Default Weird Electrical issue, please help!

ok, i have a 2000 silverado 2500, my instrument cluster will randomly stop working, all gauges except oil pressure and volt gauge. i got a used gauge and just put it in and it has the same issue, one thing i noticed is when i press the reset button on the gauge it will work again, but i have to hold the button down, i can figure out most mechanical issues but when it comes to electrical i never know where to begin, so any ideas or answers are greatly appreciated. thanks guys
    Stephen- Massachusetts
    2001 Chevy Silverado

Dear Members, I'm not a certified mechanic i just have a decent knowledge and about 4 years of hands on experience, I'm no way close to a expert but I'm trying to give my best input so bear with my responses please, thanks

When you said you got a used gauge and it had the same issue ... did you mean you got a single gauge and replace it ... or did you get a used cluster and replace the whole cluster?

Sr. Apprentice

the whole cluster, also more info of issues, the main reason the gauges dying is a issue to me is because it messes up my shifting and i loose overdrive so i basicly can't do highway speeds without being at a minimum 4krpms
    Stephen- Massachusetts
    2001 Chevy Silverado

Dear Members, I'm not a certified mechanic i just have a decent knowledge and about 4 years of hands on experience, I'm no way close to a expert but I'm trying to give my best input so bear with my responses please, thanks

Have you checked the harness that plugs into the cluster to make sure none of the wires in it are loose?

Sr. Apprentice

yea, all of them are good, i just dont understand why pressing in the reset button will toggle them to come back on
    Stephen- Massachusetts