GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

Default Intake Manifold leaking antifreeze - advice needed about repair

Hello all. My '98 Silverado (5 liter, V-8, 142k miles) is leaking a small amount of antifreeze at the intake manifold. I'm pretty sure I have some oil showing up on my radiator, too - or it realy needs to be flushed. I'm a pretty good weekend mechanic, but this will be getting into something I've never done. It sounds easy enough - get everything out of the way, remove probably 6 or 8 bolts that hold the intake manifold on the engine, get the old gasket off and clean that surface, install new gasket and use a torque wrench to reinstall intake manifold. Suggestions? Am I on the right track? Hopefully I don't also have to remove valve covers or anything else? I didn't see any threads here addressing this, but I am wiling to do plenty of research before I began rather than screw something up.

Other thing I'm wondering about is: products on the market, i.e., "Thermagasket" and others. I'm concerned that although these products might fix my leak, isn't there a good possibility that they'll gum-up other parts like maybe my water pump?

Thanks for your help.

Where do you have antifreeze on the intake? Can you take a picture? If it is all original, it is unlikely to get an antifreeze leak there,, unless things are so corroded that metal/aluminum has eaten away enough. It is likely a heater hose connection, thermostat housing or radiator hose.

If you do pull the intake, you are on track with your thoughts above, but it is usually easier to do with valve covers off. You also need to pull the distributor.
    Mark
    89 K Blazer 4" lift 35x12.5x15, warn hubs, cut out flares. Soon to have headers, posi carriers, gears.
    2000 K2500 Crew Cab 5.7 285/75R16's. 3" Body lift. Suspension parts being ordered.