GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER
Page 1 of 4 123 ... Last Post byLast Post by

Default Student's fuel efficiency question! Which truck for me?

I am currently a student and drive a 2001 Silverado 1500, 4x4 with a 5.3l.
    The fuel efficiency is, OK. it's a truck and I knew what I was getting into when I bought it approximately 2 years ago.
    But I was thinking recently, would it be more economical for me to downsize to a Colorado with an I-5?
    I've heard rumours that they are worse on gas than the 5.3..
    Could someone help me out with my dilemma? What do you think I should do? Keep the full size V8? or Downsize?
    "don't drive a truck" Isn't an option for me, I live in Canada and we have snow for about 6-7 months out of the year.. 4x4!!
    Any help would be great,
    Cam

The difference in the fuel economy between the full size trucks and the small ones is usually marginal at best. I get better mileage in my full size truck than just about every one of my ranger and small truck/SUV driving friends.

my wife's Prius, on the other hand... LOL! So if you want fuel economy, you know what you are going to have to do.
    "It went together didn't it? Well then there has to be a way to take it apart!" - Me.

Check out my image gallery HERE.

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good." ~Samuel Johnson (1709-1784)

Legend

Piermont,NY, back in Northern NJ now, But may be in IL soon....

As said many times It's a TRUCK.... Your NOT going to get more then the 16-20 range... Get a car with AWD or atleast front wheel to get better..