1. Chevy Truck Forum

Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online

Online since 2004, we're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free

Registering is Free and Easy! Do it today and we'll see you on the forums soon!

05 5.3 chevy silverado. Automatic to manual transmission swap.

Discussion in 'GM Powertrain' started by Bobbyspears, Jan 24, 2013.

1. Bobbyspears

Bobbyspears New Member

Hey I'm new to all this and have post this a couple other place on here. I appolgize but I can't figure out how to delete them. But hopfully this is in the right place. But anyways I'm getting ready to do a auto to manual swap in my 05 5.3 4x4 silverado, and I'm trying to get any info that I can on it. I believe I have narrowed it down on the tranny I want to use. Which is the nv4500. I would really like to find someone who had made this swap. I'm trying to put a parts list together before I start. If anyone has any info on this please let me know. Thanks

2. Creepy Crawler

Creepy Crawler New Member

Of course people tried to talk me out of this swap on my 87. Especially the trans shop that quoted me about $750 to rebuild the 700R4. I didn't listen to any of them. I'm not sure how much Chevy trucks have changed as far as interchangeability goes since the years of mine, but my swap was real easy and I couldn't be happier. I can't stand auto trannies. I bought a used SM465 mated to the venerable NP205 for $500 from a friend. The only thing I miss is not having overdrive. (like your NV4500 will have) A Gear Venders electric OD is on my wish list. This will turn my 4 speed (technically a 3 speed) manual trans into a 8 speed trans since I'll be able to split every gear.