Newest Gallery Photos

1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

1986 Truck stalling

Discussion in 'General Chevy & GM Tech Questions' started by bonechip67, Dec 3, 2010.

1. bonechip67

bonechip67 New Member

Hey there, newbie here! Im looking at buying a used truck. The guy who is selling told me that the truck likes to stall on him. Its a 1986 Chevy 1/2 ton with a 305 motor and around 93k for miles. He told me he has owned this truck for quite some time (since 38k) but didnt say when this problem started. Only that he has changed the fuel pump twice over this time frame and fixed some broken vacum lines. He also mentioned it seemed to happen after the truck warmed up. He bought a new truck and doesnt want to invest anymore time or money on this on. Suggested that I trailor the truck if I buy it because he didnt think it would make the 15 mile trip home. Anyone got an idea of what it could be? Thanks, Bone
  2. MightyMax

MightyMax Rockstar 100 Posts

Fuel Filter?

Ignition system?
  3. bonechip67

bonechip67 New Member

Im sure it could be a number of things, but was just wondering if anyone on here has had this problem and what the did to fix it. I read on the web were a few other people have had the same thing and some have changed dist, wires, fuel pumps and even whole carbs and still have the bug. Never have heard of what anyone has done to fix.
  4. mfleetwood

mfleetwood Rockstar 4 Years ROTM Winner 5000 Posts