GM Truck Club
THE PREMIER CHEVY TRUCK & SUV FORUM
Founded in 2004 ~ We're the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV Forum.
Silverado & Sierra | Tahoe & Yukon | Suburban & Yukon XL | SUV & CROSSOVER

1995 chevrolet silverado unlock and lock remote??

Discussion in 'General Chevy & GM Tech Questions' started by Stecky22, Sep 16, 2013.

  1. Stecky22

    Stecky22 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I just bought a 1995 Chevrolet Silverado c1500. When I bought it it didn't come with the remote that unlocks and locks it. I dont know if it has all the equipment for that. is there anyway that you can tell if there was one in it or not???
    #1
  2. Pikey

    Pikey Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    12
    look at the tag in the glovebox. if you have a AU0 it means remote entry lock control, ie keyfob.
    #2
  3. Stecky22

    Stecky22 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok thanks! if mine doesn't have one is there a way I could install one myself??
    #3
  4. Pikey

    Pikey Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    12
    Almost any aftermarket remote starter or alarm system can give you keyless entry with the addition of a few relays. (Did it to my 1995) I know that a decent system should run you around $200 installed. You can find them cheaper, but the range will not be as far as it would be with a better system.
    #4
  5. rileyjr16

    rileyjr16 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2,038
    Likes Received:
    1
    In 95 remote keyless entry became optional. But like pikey said, if your truck doesn't have it, a good aftermarket kit will work. My key fob broke so I'm down to just the key.
    #5
  6. RayVoy

    RayVoy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    5
    As long as the truck has power locks.
    #6
  7. Stecky22

    Stecky22 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    all my glovebox has is a Ae7,AJ1, AM7,AU3,A20, and A31? but no AU0. does that mean I don't have it??
    #7
  8. Pikey

    Pikey Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    12
    Do you have the old key fob? PM me a pic of it. I may have one laying around that I can send you.
    #8

Share This Page