1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

1996 Suburban Diesel Exhaust System Upgrade?

Discussion in 'GM Diesel & DuraMax' started by 2091B22, Jan 31, 2012.

1. 2091B22

2091B22 New Member

I am a newbie to the truck club, and a newbie to my Suburban. I have a 1996 GMC K2500 4X4 diesel 6.5 L. Presently I am getting around 14 MPG in the city, and 20 MPG on the highway. I would like to upgrade the exhaust system. I purchased the vehicle used so I am not sure if the system I presently have is in fact already upgraded. The present system is a 2.5 inch crossover pipe, then a 3 inch down pipe that continues to the muffler. There is a 2.5 inch pipe from the output of the muffler to the rear of the vehicle. Is this system the stock system? If this is the stock system, what would be a good system to upgrade to, meaning what size pipes from where to where, including a better flow muffler? I do not want to go exotic, but I do want a better exhaust system. I know I should also upgrade the air intake system. Not sure if asking for recommendations for the air system should be in this thread, or generate another thread. Any thoughts on that?
  2. ChevyHD

ChevyHD New Member

With a diesel, the less back pressure the better. But no exhaust and cat does make it louder. Personally I would just do 3 inch downpipe back. But then again I love loud exhaust! lol
  3. rileyjr16

rileyjr16 Active Member 1000 Posts