1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

2005 1500 4x2 suspension questions. Ride seems too "floaty" best way to level it?

Discussion in 'Lifted & Offroad Suspension' started by southlak9cop, Mar 31, 2011.

1. southlak9cop

southlak9cop New Member

This is my first truck, and it was my father's that recently passed away. I've always had sports cars, and most recently a BMW 3 series so I am completely new to dealing with trucks.

I found receipts from Midas where the shocks were changed less than 6k miles ago. All it says is LT shocks. The body roll seems excessive and the ride seems to float and bounce way too much. I'd like to firm this up and also level the truck out. On the 2005 4x2 models, I understand that this is easily done with a spring cup/spacer. I've seen polyurethane, polyurethane and metal, and all metal spacers.

Any particular one better than another, and would adding these spacers firm this suspension up a bit?
  2. silveradotrailblazer

silveradotrailblazer Epic Member 5+ Years ROTM Winner 5000 Posts

Welcome to the club. The LT on the Midas receipts stand for LightTruck. I'm sure there not expensive shocks. I'd go with poly spacer kit and I would change the shocks to Bilsteins or Edelbrocks. Check the front swaybar bushings. Remmember you are used to driving sport cars, not trucks. Also '05 2wd's came with either front coils or torson bars. I don't mean to insult you but have you checked to make sure the truck has coil springs? One last thing, Hotchkis Performance make a very nice swaybar set for this truck.
  3. southlak9cop