1. Welcome To GMTruckClub.com!

The #1 Chevy Truck Forum Online
    Online since 2004, we are the #1 Chevy Truck & SUV forum and user community. If you have any questions about your Chevy or GMC Truck, SUV or Crossover, or just want to connect with other GM owners and enthusiasts around the world, you've found the best place on the internet to do that.

Join Today ~ It's Free
    Registering is Free and Easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

2005 Chevy Trailblazer Engine Whine

Discussion in 'Chevy Trailblazer Forum (GMC Envoy)' started by jkjroni, Apr 23, 2007.

1. jkjroni

jkjroni New Member

Hi all, newbie here. I just bought a used 2005 TB with 42000 miles on it. It has recently started to make a horrible whining noise when you accelerate mostly, although it is there while idling. Anyone had this problem or have any ideas as to what could be wrong. It's really frustrating considering I just bought it!:confused: Any help is greatly appreciated.
    1 person likes this.
  2. ChevyFan

ChevyFan Administrator Staff Member 5+ Years 5000 Posts

Just a couple of quick thoughts.

1) Serpentine belt - does it go away after it's been running for a while? Does it make the same sound no matter how fast you go, or does it go away when driving at full speed? Is it worse when cold?

My belt made horrible whine/chirping noise starting around 40,000 miles, I hit it with some belt dressing every 6 weeks and replaced it around 55,000 miles.

Try getting some belt dressing from your local autoparts store and spraying it according to the directions on the can. See if the noise goes away instantly when applying it.

2) Fan Clutch - The fan clutch goes out on some of these, and it will cause a whine noise as well.
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2007
  3. jkjroni

jkjroni New Member